Area Basketball Stars On Card At Spectrum

Posted: April 12, 1987

Nine members of The Inquirer's 1987 all-area basketball team will compete in an opening act for today's McDonald's All-American Game. The preliminary game, which will pit Philadelphia stars against a team of Delaware Valley stars, will begin at 11:30 a.m. at the Spectrum.

All-area selectees Doug Overton (Dobbins), Clayton Adams (Roman Catholic), Will Scott and Robert Stokes (Southern) and Mike Monroe (West Philadelphia) will play for the city stars. Vince Miller of Frankford, Rich Yankowitz of Dobbins and Joe Rapczynski of North Catholic will coach the city stars.

All-area selectees Matt Blundin (Ridley), Dane Watts (Conestoga), Aaron Davis (Willingboro) and Chip Thompson (St. Augustine's) will play for the Delaware Valley stars. Bill Smothers of Woodrow Wilson, Alonzo Lewis of Chester and Jim Wilkinson of Abington will coach.

The preliminary game is the brainchild of local basketball impresario Sonny Hill.

"When McDonald's decided to come in here with the All-American Game this year," Hill said, "we felt it was equally important to give some of the fine local players in the area an opportunity to participate. This game also will be good exposure for the excellent coaches we've been fortunate enough to get involved."

Hill said the three coaches from each side held a series of two tryouts to select their teams. Hill said that 25 players from both the city and Delaware Valley were invited to try out, based on information from local coaches.

The McDonald's All-American Game, which features 25 of the top scholastic players in the nation, will follow at 2 p.m. Competing in the McDonald's game will be three players with Philadelphia connections: Brian Shorter, Bobby Martin and Mark Macon.

Shorter is the former Simon Gratz star who played this year for Oak Hill Academy in Virginia. Martin is an Atlantic City High standout, and Macon, a guard out of Saginaw, Mich., has signed to play for Temple. All three will play for the East team, which will be coached by Ken Hamilton of Ben Franklin High and Mark Levin of Overbrook High.

Coaches of the West team will be Dave Lebo of Pennsylvania state champion Carlisle High and Reggie Weiss of Wilson-West Lawn High. The West squad features Marcus Liberty of Chicago and Dennis Scott of Virginia, generally considered to be the top two scholastic basketball players in the country.



Clayton Adams 6-1 G Roman Catholic

Vince Curran 6-7 C St. Joseph's

James Glass 6-6 C University City

Mike Kempski 6-1 G Archbishop Carroll

Mike Monroe 6-2 F West Philadelphia

Darryl Oliver 6-4 F Frankford

Doug Overton 6-3 G Dobbins

Eddie Savage 6-0 G Simon Gratz

Will Scott 6-3 F Southern

Randy Slade 6-3 F Dobbins

Kevin Smith 6-5 C Southern

Larry Stewart 6-5 C Dobbins

Robert Stokes 6-3 G Southern


Matt Blundin 6-7 F Ridley

Ed Cobbs 6-0 G Cherry Hill East

Mark Considine 7-0 C Delcastle, Wilm.

Jerome David 6-2 G Bishop Eustace

Aaron Davis 6-7 F Willingboro

Sam Rines 6-2 G Abington

Dean Scarpa 6-4 F Vineland

Bruce Stankavage 6-2 G C.B. East

Keith Taylor 6-1 G Chester

Chip Thompson 6-8 F St. Augustine, N.J.

Dana Tull 6-1 G Vineland

Jimmy Walker 5-9 G Trenton Central

Dane Watts 6-5 G Conestoga

comments powered by Disqus