Ryan Defeats Mcmonigle In District Attorney Race

Posted: November 05, 1987

Republican William H. Ryan Jr. of Drexel Hill grinned and rocked back on his heels at the post-election party Tuesday night, savoring his victory as the new district attorney for Delaware County.

Ryan had defeated Democrat Richard L. McMonigle of Drexel Hill by nearly 2-1 - the same ratio by which the Republicans had retained their 5-0 grip on County Council, winning all four at-large seats at stake, according to unofficial results provided by county elections staff.

"I'm elated, obviously," Ryan said at the Republicans' victory party at the Alpine Inn in Springfield.

Citing a bitter campaign between himself and McMonigle, Ryan said of the 2-1 ratio, "I feel good about that because a lot of things were said by Mr. McMonigle, which I knew were untrue. I'm proud of what I've done in office - this is probably the most high-profile office in the (county) government."

About the strength of the Republicans in Delaware County, Ryan said, "God knows, we are not a machine. We are a very, very people-oriented, people- intensive organization that cares about the government in the county."'

As for his plans in the "high profile" office of district attorney, "I'm not going to stand here and tell you that I'm going to do a whole lot of things differently," Ryan said. "I will put my stamp on the office as (Reilly) has put his personal stamp on the office."

At the post-election party at the Fireside Restaurant in Springfield, a somber McMonigle told his fellow Democrats, "I knew what I was getting into. There were no surprises."

The incumbent Republicans on County Council held their seats and added a new Republican to their number.

Elected for four-year terms by more than a 2-1 ratio were incumbent Edwin B. "Ted" Erickson of Upper Darby, incumbent John W. Taylor of Chester and State Rep. Mary Ann Arty of Springfield. They defeated Democrats Stanley Lindner of Yeadon, Vincent J. Maisano of Ridley Park and Mary L. Hediger of Haverford.

Councilman Joseph F. Kelly defeated Democrat Allen R. Polsky for a two-year term, also by more than 2-1. Both live in Haverford.

The district attorney whom Ryan will replace, John Reilly of Middletown, ran successfully for a 10-year term as judge of Delaware County Common Pleas Court. He defeated Democratic District Justice Tom Lacey of Colwyn by nearly 2-1.

Incumbent Common Pleas Judges Melvin G. Levy and R. Barclay Surrick, both of Nether Providence, retained their seats for another 10 years. Levy and Surrick won the retention votes by 5-1 ratios.

At the GOP victory party, Levy walked over to introduce himself to Ryan and to congratulate him on winning the district attorney's seat.

"I feel terrific; I think it's great," Levy said later of his own victory. As for his second 10-year term, Levy said, "We're just going to work hard and continue to do as good a job as we possibly can."

In the race for county controller's office, Republican Thomas Hayward of Radnor, who was appointed controller last year, defeated Democrat Dai Williams of Marple to fill a two-year term. Hayward won by more than 2-1.

comments powered by Disqus