Halloween Curfews Set

Posted: October 25, 1989

In most Burlington County communities, police expect an onslaught of merry pranksters on both Mischief Night and Halloween night, Monday and Tuesday. On those nights, at least 10 of the county's 35 towns will enforce existing curfews or impose temporary ones.

Though not imposing a curfew, Mount Laurel has an extensive plan for stemming trouble, said crime prevention officer Ference Schubert.

"We're making several recommendations: that parents screen what candy children bring home, that kids only eat candy that is commercially wrapped, and that trick-or-treaters aren't out beyond a responsible hour," said Schubert. "We're more concerned about Mischief Night. That's when kids throw eggs and soap cars. We'll have extra patrols and 17 Town Watch organizations trying to prevent problems."

Youths in Eastampton face the toughest Halloween restrictions - they will have to be off the streets by 8 p.m. from now through Nov. 7.

Both Rancocas Hospital and Zurbrugg Memorial Hospital will give children and parents free X-rays of their candy.

"These hospitals have a history of doing this for the community," said Anthony Cirillo, a Rancocas Hospital spokesman.

At Rancocas Hospital, bring candy to the main entrance, on Sunset Road in Willingboro, from 5 to 8:30 p.m. Zurbrugg is on Hospital Plaza, in Riverside.


Here, by township, is a list of Halloween restrictions:

Beverly: Curfew at 9:45 p.m., for youths under 18.

Burlington City: Extra police patrols.

Burlington Township: No curfew.

Chesterfield: No curfew.

Cinnaminson: No curfew. Extra police patrols.

Delanco: No curfew.

Delran: Curfew, 10 p.m., under 18. Double police patrols.

Eastampton: Curfew, 8 p.m., under 18, from Oct. 24 to Nov. 7.

Edgewater Park: No curfew.

Evesham: No curfew.

Florence: No curfew.

Lumberton: No curfew.

Mansfield: No curfew.

Maple Shade: Curfew, 10 p.m., under 18.

Medford Lakes: No curfew. Extra police coverage.

Medford Township: No curfew.

Moorestown: No curfew.

Mount Holly: No curfew.

Mount Laurel: No curfew.

New Hanover: Curfew, 10 p.m, under 18.

North Hanover: No curfew.

Palmyra: No curfew.

Pemberton Borough: No curfew.

Pemberton Township: No curfew. Extra police and Crime Watch patrols.

Plumstead: Curfew, 10 p.m., under 18. Extra police patrols.

Riverside: Curfew, 10:30 p.m., under 17. Extra police patrols.

Riverton: No curfew.

Shamong: No curfew.

Southampton: No curfew.

Springfield: No curfew.

Tabernacle: No curfew.

Westampton: Curfew, 11 p.m., under 18.

Willingboro: Extra police patrols.

Woodland: No curfew.

Wrightstown: No curfew.

comments powered by Disqus