Pemberton teachers, students, alumni collect honors

Posted: July 01, 2001

The following teachers in the Pemberton Township School District have been named educators of the year at their respective schools:

Suzanne Ward, Emmons School;

Mary Ellen Welykoridko, Helen Fort Middle School;

Josephine White, Harker-Wylie School;

Sheila Quinn, Stackhouse School;

Barbara Sauer, Newcomb School;

Janet Salkowski, Fort Dix Elementary School;

Elizabeth Looney, Crichton School;

Martha Korson, Busansky School;

Deborah Amitrano, Denbo School

Diane Emerson, Pemberton Township High School.


Twelve graduates of Pemberton Township High School have been inducted into the Alumni Hall of Fame: Molly Avery (1984); Fernando Avila Jr. (1982); Curtis W. Diggs Jr. (1980); Dennis Glenn Doye (1969); Liberty Delgado Harshaw (1976); Ted Paetzold (1973); Richard Reeves (1950); Robert Reeves (1944); Ronald Roberts (1964); Patricia L. Robertson (1977); Arthur Howard Shinn (1982); and Mary Ann Young (1976).

Retiring from the district are the following employees: June Auch, Flo Banks, Sherry Brown, Mary Ellen Carr, Maria Cortese, Bernice Davidson, Leah Emmons, Terry Fryer, Dennis Green, Betty Hopkins, Phillip Howard, Hester Hunley, Eleanor Kirby, Harvey Lucas, Lillian Luker, Vincent Quaresima, Caroline Riley, Kenneth Service, Joan Steen, Mary Ellen Welykoridko, Josephine White and Mary Zorovich.

These students at Pemberton Township High School have been honored with awards or cited for achievement:

Tiffany Alford and Laura Liston, elected to New Jersey Girls State, a leadership program;

Adam Rich, Patrick Poole, Joseph Ramahlo and Andrew Ubbens, elected to New Jersey Boys State;

Bobbie Downs, second place in the Walt Whitman 2001 high school poetry contest, "America's Games";

Curtis M. Williams 2d, the high school's representative at the state's 2001 Hugh O'Brian Youth Foundation leadership seminar;

Jeremy Eberhardt, Saif Ali, Barbara McBride, Jemille Martin, Erica Parker, Aaron Blizzard, Rebecca Baisley, Wendy Schafer, David McKenna, Laura Liston, Mike Hinkson, Daryl McDougal, Robert Smart and Patrick Poole, all honored as scholar/athletes;

Jemille Martin, who was named to the Burlington County Scholastic League all-star team for her performance in the 100-meter dash for track and field;

Kelly Murawski, who was named to the Burlington County Scholastic League all-star team for softball.

Cherry Hill

Barry Adler of Cherry Hill, the principal of the Russell Knight Elementary School, has received the Rutgers-Camden School Educator of the Year Award. Adler teaches classes on classroom management at Rutgers-Camden and has helped forge a relationship between the campus and his school. The award is given annually to an educator in a South Jersey public school.

A team of students from Cherry Hill High School West has won second place in Division III of the Stock Market Game for the spring 2001 competition sponsored by the New Jersey Council on Economic Education. On the team were Mike Mandel, Adam Melson and Will Sleeth, all members of the Class of 2001 and students in Walter Brown's AP economics course.

Two students at Cherry Hill High School West achieved perfect scores on the 2001 national Latin exam. Of the 112,000 students who took the exam, Stephen Sundell, a junior, and Brian McGinnis, a sophomore, were among the 1,200 students nationwide to achieve this distinction.


Three Clayton High School commercial art students took first, second and third place in the ARC (Association of Retarded Citizens) Pregnant Pause poster contest. The winners were Josh Connelly, first place; Kelsey Placko, second, and Ashley Hemetag, third. The idea was to create a poster to draw attention to the dangers of drinking alcohol while pregnant.


Anthony Vitarelli, a member of Eastern Regional High School's Class of 2001, has been named a national winner in the Principal's Leadership Award Scholarship sponsored by the National Association of Secondary Principals and Herff Jones Inc. He will receive a $1,000 scholarship.


Donald Davis has been named the principal of Gateway Regional High School in Woodbury. Davis, who had been the assistant principal at the school for the last two years, will succeed Michael Pilacik, who will become the principal of South High School in Rockland County, N.Y.

Lenape district

The regional district's adult evening high school Class of 2001 numbers 38, the largest adult class to graduate in the district's history. For about 20 years the district has run a high school for adults wishing to obtain a high school diploma. The ceremony was on June 13.

Lenape High School

Kate DeSantis, a biology teacher at the Medford high school, collaborated with Princeton University professors at the school's Howard Hughes Institute in developing a genetics course for Lenape students. In July, she will speak on "Thinking Outside the Box: Using Molecular Biology in the Class," at the institute.


The following students at Roberts Elementary School achieved perfect attendance for the 2000-01 school year: Drew Andrews-Bristol, Daniel Beam, Dylan Chesney, Dennis Daily, John Dooley, Joey Gerhold, John Jones, Erika McCool, Ben Mejia, Russell Morrissey, Robert Papotta, Melvin Sheppard, Sukhwinder Singh, Matthew Tucker, Ryan Wheeler, D. Williams and Lauren Zebrowski.

Special Services

Students at Burlington County Special Services Youth Corps have built a handicapped access ramp for Earl Fisher in Mount Holly. Each year the Youth Corps undertakes service projects for area residents.

comments powered by Disqus