Museum and gallery events

Posted: September 21, 2007

Art Museums & Institutions

Barnes Foundation 300 North Latchs La., Merion; 610-667-0290. www.barnesfoundation.org. Docent-led Tours . Tours may be canceled due to inclement weather. $10 (reservations required). Fri.-Sun. 9:30 am-5 pm.

Brandywine River Museum Rte. 1 & Rte. 100, Chadds Ford; 610-388-2700. www.brandywinemuseum.org. Flights into Fantasy: The Kendra & Allan Daniel Collection . Closes 11/18. $8; $5 seniors, students & children 6-12; free for children under 6. Daily 9:30 am-4:30 pm.

Delaware Art Museum 2301 Kentmere Pkwy., Wilmington; 302-571-9590. www.delart.org. Glory of Stories - Fri. 10:30 am. $2 for this event. $10; $8 seniors; $5 students; $3 youths; free for children under 7 & for all Sundays. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm, Sun. noon-4 pm.

Delaware Center for the Contemporary Arts 200 S. Madison St., Wilmington; 302-656-6466. www.thedcca.org. Michael Aurbach: The Administrator - A biting commentary on contemporary academia. Closes 9/23. Tue., Thu.-Fri. 10 am-6 pm, Wed. 10 am-8 pm, Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. 1-5 pm.

*FREE* The Fabric Workshop & Museum 1315 Cherry St., 5th Fl.; 215-568-1111. www.fabricworkshop.org. Selections From the Permanent Collection. Closes 9/29. Mon.-Fri. 10 am-6 pm; Sat. noon-4 pm.

James A. Michener Art Museum 138 S. Pine St., Doylestown; 215-340-9800. www.michenerartmuseum.org. The following all close 10/21: Fire & Ice - Watercolors & drawings by Marine Warrant Officer Michael Fay. $6.50; $6 seniors; $4 students 6-18; free for children under 6, military & family. Tue.-Fri.10 am-4:30 pm, Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

James A. Michener Museum, New Hope Branch Union Square, New Hope; 215-862-7633. www.michenermuseum.org. Gershwin to Gillespie: Portraits in American Music. Closes 10/7. $5; $4 seniors 60 & over; $2 children 6-18; free for children under 6. Tue.-Fri. & Sun. 11 am-5 pm; Sat. 11 am-6 pm.

Noyes Museum of Art 733 Lily Lake Rd., Oceanville; 609-652-8848. www.noyesmuseum.org. Pond Discovery Walk - Forsythe Wildlife Refuge Guide will take visitors on walk to pond in neighboring nature reserve. Wear comfortable walking shoes. 9/22 2:30-4 pm. $4; $3 seniors, students; free for children under 6. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-4:30 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Pearl S. Buck House 520 Dublin Rd., Perkasie; 215-249-0100. www.psbi.org. Personal Pearl Exhibit - Highlights of the exhibit & guided tour include elegant, custom gowns & suits that Pearl Buck wore. Closes 10/31. $7; $6 seniors; free for children under 6. Open Tue.-Sat at 11 am; Sun at 1 pm.

Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts 118-128 N. Broad St.; 215-972-7600. www.pafa.org. Painting collection features over 1,800 pieces of important & recognizable works in American art. $7; $6 seniors & students; $5 youth 5-18; free for children under 5. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. 11 am-5 pm.

Philadelphia Museum of Art 26th St. & Benjamin Franklin Pkwy.; 215-763-8100. www.philamuseum.org. Art After 5 - Fri. 5-8:45 pm. Live music at the museum by artists in a variety of genres. Picasso Party - Picasso-themed art projects & performances. 9/23 10:30 am-2:30 pm. Drawing Together - Open sketching time for families. 9/23 noon-2:30 pm. $9 seniors; $8 students & youth 13-18; free for children 12 & under. Tue.-Thu., Sat.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Fri. 10 am-8:45 pm.

*FREE* Philadelphia Museum of Jewish Art 615 N. Broad St.; 215-627-6747. www.rodephshalom.org. Contemporary art that illuminates the Jewish experience.Mon.-Thu. 10 am-4 pm; Fri. 10 am-2 pm; Sun. 10 am-noon.

The Philadelphia Print Shop 8441 Germantown Ave.; 215-242-4750. www.philaprintshop.com. North American Print Conference: Impressions of Philadelphia. Reg. required. $40 single day; $125 all 3 days. 9/27 9 am-4:30 pm, 9/28 9 am-5:30 pm, 9/29 2-7 pm.

Rosenbach Museum & Library 2008-2010 Delancey Pl.; 215-732-1600. www.rosenbach.org. 19th-century home of the Rosenbach brothers.$8; $5 seniors & students; free for children under 5. Tue., Thu.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Wed. 10 am-8 pm.

Trenton City Museum 319 East State St., Trenton; 609-989-3632. www.ellarslie.org. Garden State Watercolor Society - Annual juried exhibition. Closes 11/4. Tue.-Sat. 11 am-3 pm; Sun. 1 pm-4 pm.

University of Pennsylvania - Institute of Contemporary Art 118 S. 36th St.; 215-898-7108. www.icaphila.org. The following all close 12/16: Eileen Neff: Between Us; $6; $3 students, artists & seniors; free for children 12 & under. Wed.-Fri. noon-8 pm, Sat.-Sun. 11 am-5 pm.

*FREE* Ursinus College - Berman Museum of Art Main St., Collegeville; 610-409-3500. www.ursinus.edu/berman. Tue.-Fri. 10 am-4 pm; Sat.-Sun. noon-4:30 pm.

*FREE* Woodmere Art Museum 9201 Germantown Ave.; 215-247-0476. www.woodmereartmuseum.org. Narratives: Meaning in ContextAngels, Alleys & Animal Acts - Prints. Opening reception 9/29. Closes 1/6. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. 1-5 pm.

Galleries

3rd Street Gallery 58 N. Second St.; 215-625-0993. www.3rdstreetgallery.com.

Artists' House 57 N. Second St.; 215-923-8440. www.artistshouse.com.

ArtStar 1030 N. 2nd St.; 215-238-1557. www.artstarphilly.com.

B Square Gallery 614 S. 9th St.; 215-625-0692. www.bsquaregallery.com.

Baobab Park 11th St.; 215-636-1666.

Bridgette Mayer Gallery 709 Walnut St.; 215-413-8893. www.mayerartconsultants.com.

Cerulean Arts 1355 Ridge Ave.; 267-514-8647. www.ceruleanarts.com.

Chestnut Hill Gallery 8117 Germantown Ave.; 215-248-2549.

The Clay Studio 139 N. Second St.; 215-925-3453. www.theclaystudio.org.

Drexel University - Picture Gallery 32nd & Chestnut St., 3rd Floor; 215-895-0480. www.drexel.edu/drexelcollection.

Dupree Studios 703 S. Sixth St.; 215-413-3884. www.dupreestudiosinc.com. Student Exhibition. Closes 9/23.

Esther M. Klein Art Gallery 3600 Market St.; 215-966-6188. www.kleinartgallery.org. The Great Society. Closes 9/29.

F.A.N. Gallery 221 Arch St.; 215-922-5155. www.fanartgallery.com. Tim Conte: Recent Paintings. Closes 9/22.

Falling Cow Gallery 732 S. Fourth St.; 215-627-4625. www.fallingcow.org. Tim Bowen: Hodgepodge. Fundraiser. Closes 9/29.

Fleisher Art Memorial 719 Catherine St.; 215-922-3456. www.fleisher.org. Walter Plotnick, Roger Matsumoto & Richard Ryan: Challenge 1. Closes 10/6.

Gallery 339 339 South 21st St.; 215-731-1530. www.gallery339.com. Tina Barney: World Stage . Closes 10/27.

Gallery 51 51 N. Second St.; 215-413-3191. www.gallery51.net. Focus on the appreciationof antique oriental rugs. Ongoing.

Gallery Joe 302 Arch St.; 215-592-7752. www.galleryjoe.com. Astrid Bowlby: A Certain Density. Closes 10/27.

Gallery Siano 309 Arch St.; 215-629-2940. www.gallerysiano.com. David Foss & Michelle Marcuse:. Closes 9/22.

Gross McCleaf Gallery 127 S. 16th St.; 215-665-8138. www.grossmccleaf.com. Chris Nissen. Closes 9/28.

International House of Philadelphia 3701 Chestnut St.; 215-387-5125. www.ihousephilly.org. Multicultural Youth eXchange's YPhilly Identity Mural. Closes 9/28.

Khmer Art Museum Gallery 319 N. 11th St.; 215-922-5600. www.khmerartgallery.com. Memorial art museum dedicated to the Cambodian people's suffering under the Khmer Rouge.

Locks Gallery 600 Washington Square South; 215-629-1000. www.locksgallery.com. Eileen Neff: Photographs. Closes 9/29. Robert Zakanitch: The Lace Series. Closes 9/29.

Manayunk Art Center 419 Green La.; 215-482-3363. www.manayunkartcenter.org. Art Show - Works by members of the Manayunk Artists' Co-Op . Closes 9/30.

Moderne Gallery 111 N. Third St.; 215-923-8536. www.modernegallery.com. David Roth: The Interference Color Paintings.

Muse Gallery 52 N. Second St.; 215-627-5310. www.musegalleryphiladelphia.com. Lydia Hamilton Brown: Life in the Black Hole. Closes 9/30.

Nexus Gallery 1400 N. American St.; 215-629-1103. www.nexusphiladelphia.org. Elaine Erne: The Lives & Traumas of Stuffed Animals - Series of drawings reflecting childhood anguish & pain. Closes 9/30.

Painted Bride Art Center 230 Vine St.; 215-925-9914. www.paintedbride.org. The Exquisite Corpse - Collaborative art project featuring 9 artists. Closes 10/13. Miriam Singer - Mixed media & works on paper. Closes 10/13.

Pentimenti Gallery 133 N. Second St.; 215-625-9990. www.pentimenti.com. Kevin Finklea: I Know What I Want & I'm Certain I Can't Have It. Opening reception 9/28. Closes 10/27.

Philadelphia Art Alliance 251 S. 18th St.; 215-545-4302. www.philartalliance.org. SunKoo Yuh - Monumental Ceramic Sculptures - Closes 12/30.

Philadelphia Art Alliance Satellite Gallery 210 W. Rittenhouse Sq., 3rd Fl.; 215-545-4302. www.philartalliance.org. Catherine Gontarek - Falling Upstairs: New Paintings - Closes 12/30.

Philadelphia Folklore Project 735 S. 50th St.; 215-726-1106. www.folkloreproject.org. If These Walls Could Talk. Ongoing.

Philadelphia International Institute (PII) 242 Race St.; 215-592-1022. Asya Livshits. Closes 9/30. Peter J. Obst. Closes 9/30.

Philadelphia Sketch Club 235 S. Camac St.; 215-545-9298. www.sketchclub.org. Phillustration '07. Closes 9/30.

The Print Center 1614 Latimer St.; 215-735-6090. www.printcenter.org. Doug & Mike Starn: Black Pulse 2000-2007 - Closes 11/21.

Projects Gallery 629 N. 2nd St.; 267-303-9652. www.projectsgallery.com. Henry Bermudez & Florence Putterman: Paper Cuts. Closes 9/29. Steve Cope: Night Watch - Solo exhibition of paintings. Closes 9/29.

Rosenfeld Gallery 113 Arch St.; 215-922-1376. www.therosenfeldgallery.com. Nikolay Milushev - Mixed media paintings. Closes 10/7.

Sande Webster Gallery 2006 Walnut St.; 215-636-9003. www.sandewebstergallery.com. Arlene Love: Walking Distance. Closes 10/3.

Schmidt/Dean Gallery 1710 Sanson St., 2nd Fl.; 215-569-9433. www.schmidtdean.com. Robert Straight: Laser Cut. Closes 10/13.

Slought Foundation 4017 Walnut St.; 215-701-4627. slought.org. German Video Art From the Kunstmuseum Bonn. Opening Reception 9/26. Closes 10/13. Donation suggested: $2; $1 children & students.

Space 1026 1026 Arch St., 2nd Fl.; 215-574-7630. www.space1026.com. Broadside Battle: Call for Entries - Broadside is usually a public notice or advertisement printed on one sheet of paper. Call for details & contest information. Entries due by 10/1.

Springboard Studio 530 Carpenter Ln.; 215-528-2138. www.springboardstudio.net. James Fuhrman: Contemplative Spaces. Call 215-528-2138 for appointment. Closes 9/23.

St. Joseph's University 5600 City Ave.; 610-660-1000. www.sju.edu. Krista Leigh Steinke: Backyards, BB Guns & Nursery Rhymes - Photography series. Closes 9/26.

The Stratasphere 1854 Germantown Ave.; 215-235-4726. www.thestratasphere.com. Multiplicity . Closes 9/29.

Temple University - Temple Gallery 259 N. Third St.; 215-925-7379. www.temple.edu. (Re)print - Artists'. Closes 11/3.

Twenty Two Gallery 236 S. 22nd St.; 215-772-1911. Alfred Ortega: Selected Works - Paintings & monotype prints. Closes 10/11.

University of Pennsylvania - Burrison Gallery 3611 Walnut St.; 215-898-4618. Laurel Wood Ramsden: Sojourner - Paintings. Closes 10/19.

University of the Arts - Gallery 1401 211 S. Broad St., 14th Fl.; 215-717-6300. www.uarts.edu. Casey Orr: By Water - Depicts how water connects people, places & things. Closes 9/21.

University of the Arts - Rosenwald-Wolf Gallery 333 S. Broad St.; 215-717-6480. www.uarts.edu/events/rwg. L'Autre. Closes 10/14.

University of the Arts - Sol Mednick Gallery 211 S. Broad St., 15th Fl.; 215-717-6300. www.uarts.edu. Bill Westheimer - Manual: The Personalities of Hands. Closes 9/21.

Wood Turning Center 501 Vine Street; 215-923-8000. www.woodturningcenter.org. allTURNatives: Form + Spirit 2007 - Multi-disciplinary exhibit. Closes 9/22.

The Arts Scene 530 E. Union St., West Chester; 610-644-6555. www.theartsscene.org. Erica Brown: Painting. Closes 10/6.

Barnstone Gallery 388 W. Pothouse Rd., Phoenixville; 610-917-0140. www.barnstonegallery.com. John Costanza: Reflections. Closes 9/30.

BOI's of New Hope Art Gallery 9 West Mechanic St., New Hope; 215-862-8292. www.BOIsofnewhope.com. Robert Lebron, the American Palette Knife Painter - Reception 9/22.

Briar Bush Nature Center 1212 Edgehill Rd., Abington; 215-887-6603. www.briarbush.org. Rhythms of Nature - Philadelphia Calligraphers' Society exhibit. Closes 9/30.

Brush & Palette 123 E. State St., Kennett Square; 610-444-4565. www.brushandpalette.net. Mimi & Art Peterson: A Couple of Artists. Closes 9/25.

Chester County Art Association 100 N. Bradford Ave., West Chester; 610-696-5600. www.chescoart.org. Dennis Haggerty: A Retrospective at Sixty. Closes 10/5.

The Gallery at Cedar Hollow 2447 Yellow Springs Rd., Malvern; 610-640-2787. Wearable Art & Jewelry Show. Closes 10/31.

Howard Gallery of Fine Art 77 W. Bridge St., New Hope; 215-862-5272. www.howard-gallery.com. Timothy Wadsworth: Oils & Watercolors. Closes 9/30.

Langman Gallery 2500 Moreland Rd., Willow Grove; 215-657-8333. www.langmangallery.com. Kimberly Willcox: Story Poles. Closes 9/30.

Main Line Unitarian Church 816 S. Valley Forge Rd., Devon; 610-688-8332. www.mluc.org. Crafts & Conversation. 9/25 noon-2:30 pm.

Midlantic Gallery Arts Consortium 19 N. 7th St., Perkasie; 215-453-1208. mgarts.org. Banned - Group show explores censorship in the arts. Closes 9/29. Call for Artists: Women, A Celebration - Entries sought that are by, for or about women.

Phillips' Mill Community Association 2619 River Rd., New Hope; 215-862-0582. www.phillipsmill.org. 78th Annual Juried Art Exhibition - Paintings, graphics, sculpture & other mediums. Reception 9/21. Closes 10/28.

Phoenix Village Art Center 207 Bridge St., Phoenixville; 610-983-9430. www.phxsg.org/pvac. Florence Umanoff & Freda Hirsch - Semi-abstract figurative sculpture work by Umanoff as well as fashion illustrations by local artist Freda Hirsch. Closes 10/2.

Salon des Amis 2321 Yellow Springs Rd., Malvern; 610-647-6010. Animal Show. Closes 11/10. Animal Show Gala Reception - Will benefit the Chester County S.P.C.A. Donations accepted. 9/23 2-6 pm.

Travis Gallery 6089 Lower York Rd., New Hope; 215-794-3903. www.travisgallery.com. Peter Fiore: The Luminous Landscape - 2007 oil paintings. Closes 9/29.

Tyme Gallery 17 W. Eagle Rd., Havertown; 610-853-1215. www.tymegallery.com. Basic Insticts - Work by Edna M. Davis, Wendy Vroom, Shobha Menon & Sharon Steinhofer. Closes 10/5.

The Upstairs Gallery Rte. 202 & Street Rd., Lahaska; 215-794-8486. www.theupstairsgallery.com. Sun-Kissed - Group exhibit. Closes 9/28.

Viking Culinary Arts Center One Town Pl., Ste. 100, Bryn Mawr; 610-526-9020. www.vikingcookingschool.com. Collaborative/26. Closes 9/29.

West Chester University - Mitchell Hall S. Church St., West Chester; 610-436-2755. www.wcupa.edu. The following all close 9/28: John Horn - Drawings from a sculptor's point of view; Thomas Hitner: Perpetual State of Mind - 3D clay works; Trisha Dawn Coggins & Ercia Loustau: Scatter - Photography by Coggins & sculpture by Loustau.

comments powered by Disqus
|
|
|
|
|