Hometown breweries, brewpubs

Posted: March 06, 2008

 

There are fine taverns throughout the area offering wide selections of high-quality beers, domestic and imported.

But it is those that brew their own that have unique status among beer lovers, and get credit for restoring Philadelphia to the top tier of beer brewing and drinking towns.

Here are some of the area's breweries and brewpubs. (Locations are in Philadelphia unless otherwise noted.)

Bethlehem Brew Works, 569 Main St., Bethlehem; 610-882-1300. www.thebrewworks.com.

Crabby Larry's Brew Pub, 237 W. Butler Ave., Chalfont; 215-822-8788. www.crabbylarrys.com.

Dock Street Brewery, 701 S. 50th St.; 215-726-2337. www.dockstreetbeer.com.

Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, 6 Cannery Village Center, Milton, Del.; 302-684-1000. Also, a brewpub in Rehoboth Beach (302-226-2739) and an alehouse in Gaithersburg, Md. See www.dogfish.com.

Flying Fish Brewing Co., 1940 Olney Ave., Cherry Hill; 856-489-0061. www.flyingfish.com.

G.G. Brewers Brewing Co., 282 Keswick Rd., Glenside; 215-887-0809.

General Lafayette Inn & Brewery, 646 Germantown Pike, Lafayette Hill; 610-941-0600. www.generallafayetteinn.com.

Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant, 147 E. Main St., Newark, Del.; 302-266-9000. Seven brewpubs - also Wilmington, West Chester, Phoenixville, North Wales, Media and Lancaster - and still growing. www/ironhillbrewery.com.

McKenzie Brew House, 240 Lancaster Ave., Malvern; 610-296-2222. Also brewpubs in Chadds Ford (610-361-9800) and Glen Mills (610-627-9000). www.mckenziebrewhouse.com.

Manayunk Brewery & Restaurant, 4120 Main St.; 215-482-8220. www.manayunkbrewery.com.

Nodding Head Brewery & Restaurant, 1516 Sansom St.; 215-569-9525. Rated Philly's best brewpub. www.noddinghead.com.

Philadelphia Brewing Co., 2423-39 Amber St.; 215-427-2739. www.philadelphiabrewing.com.

Porterhouse Brewpub & Restaurant, 5775 Lower York Rd., Lahaska; 215-794-9373. www.porterhousepub.com.

River Horse Brewing Co., 80 Lambert Lane, Lambertville, N.J.; 609-397-7776. www.riverhorse.com.

Rock Bottom, 160 N. Gulph Rd., King of Prussia; 610-230-2739. Mall pub. www.rockbottom.com.

Sly Fox Brewery & Brewpub, 312 N. Lewis Rd., Royersford; 610-948-8088. Another brewpub in Phoenixville (Rt. 113; 610-935-4540). www.slyfoxbeer.com.

Stoudt's Brewing Co., 2800 N. Reading Rd. (Route 272), Adamstown, Pa.; 717-484-4386. www.stoudtsbeer.com.

Triumph Brewing, Old City, 117-21 Chestnut St.; 215-625-0855. Also has New Hope (215-862-8300) and Princeton (609-924-7855) brewpubs. www.triumphbrew.com.

Tun Tavern, 200 Kirkman Blvd., Atlantic City; 609-347-7800. www.tuntavern.com.

Victory Brewing Co., 420 Acorn Lane, Downingtown; 610-873-0881. www.victorybeer.com.

Yards Brewing Co., 901 N. Delaware Ave.; 215-634-2600. www.yardsbrewing.com.

D.G. Yuengling & Son Inc., 5th and Mahantongo Sts., Pottsville, Pa.; 570-622-4141. Founded in 1829, the oldest and now fifth-largest brewery in America, with a bottling plant in Tampa, Fla. www.yuengling.com.

- Marilynn Marter

|
|
|
|
|