Baldosaro leads Eastern parade

Posted: February 21, 2010

A fiery Anthony Baldosaro set the stage for his fellow wrestlers from Eastern yesterday in the District 26 individual wrestling tournament at Holy Cross, where consolation, semifinal, and final rounds in each of 14 weight classes were held.

Baldosaro, the top seed in his weight class, answered the call to start the championship match at 145 pounds and dominated for a 9-1 decision over second-seeded Khalid Shakir of Cinnaminson.

Five other No. 1 seeds from Eastern, the most of any school at the tournament, followed Baldosaro, who won his fourth district crown.

Preston Keiffer at 160, Robert Deutsch at 119, and Cal Stack at 135 won district titles for Eastern. Sophomore Jacob Backal (103) and senior Hank Stinson (140) placed second.

The top three in each weight class advance to the Region 7 tournament scheduled for 5 p.m. Tuesday at Robbinsville.

Bordentown coach Joe Sprague was voted coach of the year in District 26 by his peers. Willingboro's James Green won the most valuable wrestler award after upsetting Stinson, 5-3, at 140.

"I did what I was supposed to do," said the usually taciturn Baldosaro, a two-time state champion at 140 pounds. "Winning four district titles has always been a goal of mine."

"Now I have a regional title to train for and redeem my loss to [Taylor] Walsh," Baldosaro said. "I'm hoping to meet up with Walsh in the regional. We should be the one-two seeds."

On Jan. 15, Walsh, of Camden Catholic, handed Baldosaro (26-2) one of his losses and was the only area wrestler to beat him. Baldosaro lost by injury default.

Keiffer, a senior 160-pounder, drew energy from Baldosaro in winning his fourth district crown by pinning Burlington Township senior Ervin Goree in 3 minutes, 29 seconds.

Deutsch, a junior, won his third district crown by scoring a major decision over third-seeded Shawn Grob of Riverside, 17-2. Deutsch is aiming for his second consecutive state title.

Moorestown's Patrick Schmidt became the school's first four-time district champion by upsetting the No. 1 seed at 125, Delran's Dan Pak, 3-1. Schmidt, whose record is 25-4, was the second seed.

In semifinal action, there was a huge upset when Delran's Mike Bohn, a fifth seed, edged top-seeded Mike Dwyer of Cinnaminson, 7-6, in the heavyweight bout. Moorestown senior Ken Ewers pinned Bohn in 1:21 in the championship bout.

Team scores were also calculated and Eastern took the honors.


Team scoring: 1, Eastern, 185.5. 2, Delran, 169.5. 3, Burlington Township, 138.5. 4, Cinnaminson, 95.5. 5, Moorestown, 87. 6, Willingboro, 86.5. 7, Bordentown, 69. 8, Riverside, 48. 9, Burlington City, 30. 10, Holy Cross, 29. 11, BCIT, 16.

145: Anthony Baldosaro, Eastern, dec. Khalid Shakir, Bordentown, 9-1; 152: Codie Spatz, Burlington Twp., dec. Brett Pedersen, Bordentown, 7-2; 160: Preston Keiffer, Eastern, pin Ervin Goree, Burlington Twp., 3:39; 171: Luke Chesney, Delran, dec. Cameron Paige, Willingboro, 7-1; 189: Jared Holliday, Burlington Twp., dec. Matt Bauer, Bordentown, 3-1; 215: Michael Haines, Cinnaminson, dec. Brandon Bennett, Willingboro, 8-2; Hwt.: Ken Ewers, Moorestown, pin Mike Bohn, Delran, 1:21; 103: Sebastian Arroyo, Riverside, dec. Jacob Backal, Eastern, 9-8; 112: Kevin Devoy, Burlington Twp., pin Tyler Mullarkey, Holy Cross, 2:38; 119: Robert Deutsch, Eastern, major dec. Shawn Grob, Riverside, 17-2; 125: Patrick Schmidt, Moorestown, dec. Dan Pak, Delran, 3-1; 130: Tyler Scotton, Willingboro, dec. Travis McDowell, Delran, 8-4; 135: Cal Stack, Eastern, dec., Matt Gasper, Delran, 10-3; 140: James Green, Willingboro, dec. Hank Stinson, Eastern, 5-3.


103: Jason Bowen, Cinnaminson, dec. Mike Gericke, 1-0; 112: Jesse Rivera, Cinnaminson, dec. Brian Sheerin, Moorestown, 2-0; 119: Tim Mahaney, Moorestown, dec. Chris Nitschmann, Bordentown, 1-0; 125: Louis Mueller, Eastern, dec. Eriq Morris, Burlington Twp., 3-1; 130: Kristopher Castagnola, Eastern, dec. Shawn Gavin, Bordentown, 8-4; 135: Alex Radcliffe, Burlington Twp., pin Alex Verbaro, Cinnaminson, 3:32; 140: Todd Weaver, Burlington Twp. pin Ron Cameron, Riverside, 1:59; 145: Mark Denny, Delran, pin Marcus Morales, Burlington Twp., 2:02; 152: Dave Newcomer, Eastern, major dec. Marquis Murden, Cinnaminson, 13-5; 160: Ray Carlisi, Delran, major dec. Richard Darroch, Burlington City, 13-3; 171: Jacob Nice, Moorestown, major dec. Dylan Quinn, Burlington Twp., 14-6; 189: Viktor Diaz, Delran, major dec. Mauro Correnti, Holy Cross, 11-3; 215: Marquis Jackson, Delran, pin Davon Jackson, Burlington City, 1:45; Hwt.: Mike Dwyer, Cinnaminson, pin Davonte Jones, Burlington City, 0:27.

Contact staff writer Bill Iezzi at 856-779-3826 or

comments powered by Disqus