Philadelphia to host NCAA's Frozen Four event in 2014

Posted: July 14, 2010

One of the coolest names in sports, the Frozen Four, will be played in Philadelphia in 2014.

The Division I Men's Ice Hockey Committee made the announcement yesterday. The Frozen Four determines the NCAA champion with national semifinal games and a title game, just like basketball's Final Four.

The timing is excellent, given that Philly enjoyed something of a hockey rebirth this spring with the Flyers unexpectedly advancing to the Stanley Cup finals.

The games will be played at the Wells Fargo Center, formerly the Wachovia Center. The ECAC will be the host.

"The Frozen Four is one of the premier national championships and a showcase of hockey's top collegiate student-athletes," Comcast-Spectacor president Peter Luukko said in a statement. "This awarding of the event is a true testament to both the development of ice hockey programs here in the Greater Philadelphia Region . . . as well as to the die-hard hockey fans here in our region who will be able to show their passion for the sport of hockey on the national stage."

The semifinals will be held Thursday, April 10, and the title game will be on April 12. On the night between the semis and final, a skills challenge is held, and the Hobey Baker Award is presented to the season's best player.

The Wells Fargo Center has been a popular venue for the NCAA. The building has hosted the 2000 Women's Final Four, 2001 NCAA men's East Regionals, and 2006 and 2009 NCAA men's first and second rounds. It will host the 2011 NCAA wrestling championships and 2013 NCAA men's basketball first and second rounds.

Also yesterday, Pittsburgh was awarded the 2013 Frozen Four.

"We are extremely pleased with every aspect of both winning bids - from the venue to the community support to the cities themselves, everything will be first class," said Holy Cross associate athletic director Bill Bellerose, chairman of the hockey committee. "We are confident both sites will put forth the ultimate championship experience for the student-athletes and fans alike."

In April, Boston College won the title by defeating Wisconsin at Ford Field in Detroit.

The 2011 Frozen Four will be held in St. Paul, Minn., and the 2012 championships are set for Tampa, Fla. *

comments powered by Disqus