Nutter facing another Street in mayoral race

Milton Street, brother of former Mayor John Street, leaves board of elections office yesterday after filing campaign paperwork.
Milton Street, brother of former Mayor John Street, leaves board of elections office yesterday after filing campaign paperwork.
Posted: March 09, 2011

Mayor Nutter will face a well-known ex-con in the Democratic primary election while two Republicans, one a party insurgent and the other a longtime Democrat, hope to be the GOP nominee in the general election.

T. Milton Street, a former state legislator who spent 26 months in federal custody for not paying taxes, said he filed nearly 2,600 signatures on nominating petitions yesterday to run for mayor.

Nutter sent a campaign aide to file 7,023 signatures in his bid for a second term.

On the Republican side, real-estate agent John Featherman said he would not seek the GOP endorsement since party leaders last week recruited a longtime Democrat, retired teacher Karen Brown, to run for mayor.

"The people who are at the top are running the Republican Party into the ground," said Featherman, adding that GOP voters regard Brown's bid as a fraud.

Brown, who had tried to run for City Council as a Democrat, dismissed Featherman's complaints and said GOP leaders "have been exceptional with me. They've welcomed me with open arms."

Featherman filed 2,060 signatures; Brown filed 1,494.

The Republican races for mayor, city commissioner and Council at-large are believed to be the first contested primary spots since 1991, when three GOP heavyweights - former Mayor Frank Rizzo, former District Attorney Ron Castille and businessman Sam Katz - went after the mayoral nomination.

The contests reflect a continuing split in the city GOP, between the established organization, led by general counsel Michael Meehan and chairman Vito Canuso, and a faction unhappy with their leadership.

City Commission

Both parties will choose two candidates for city commissioner, and in the general election, the top three vote-getters will get the jobs, guaranteeing that all the seats won't be held by the same political party.

On the Democratic side, incumbents Marge Tartaglione and Anthony Clark, both ward leaders, are seeking re-election, Tartaglione to her 10th term, Clark to his second. They're opposed by another Democratic ward leader, Stephanie Singer, and four other Democrats: Ivy Staten, Michael Edward Bell, Bernard Talmadge and Warren Bloom.

There are four Republican candidates for commissioner - incumbent Joseph Duda, a Republican ward leader from the Far Northeast, along with attorney James Mugford, both backed by the Republican organization. They're opposed by Al Schmidt, a leader of the anti-Meehan faction, and Marie Delany, director of a transitional facility in Frankford for women with children.

Council at-large

All five incumbent Democrats - Wilson Goode Jr., Jim Kenney, Blondell Reynolds Brown, Bill Greenlee and Bill Green - are trying to hold onto their seats.

Sixteen other Democrats filed petitions to challenge them: Ralph Blakney, Lawrence Clark, Sherrie Cohen, Francis Graff Jr., Ralanda King, Daryl LaFountain, Janis Manson, Edward Nesmith, Donna Gentile O'Donnell, Humberto Perez, Denise Ripley, Isaiah Thomas, Andrew Toy, Alexander Wilson, Louis Borda and Michael Jones.

On the Republican side, Frank Rizzo is seeking a fourth term, with nine other Republicans vying for the five GOP ballot spots. The others are John Giordano, Malcolm Lazin, Joseph McColgan, Elmer Money, state Rep. Denny O'Brien, Stephen Odabashian, David Oh, Al Taubenberger and Michael Untermeyer.

District Council races

1st District: Incumbent Frank DiCicco bowed out of the race Monday after months of controversy over his participation in the city's deferred-retirement plan, known as DROP. Four Democrats are in the race to succeed him: Mark Squilla, Joseph Grace, Vern Anastasio and Jeff Hornstein. No Republicans filed.

2nd District: Six Democrats are bidding to take over the seat held for 36 years by retiring Council President Anna Verna. They are state Rep. Kenyatta Johnson, Realtor/lawyer Barbara Capozzi, Tracey Gordon and lawyers Vincent DeFino, Damon Roberts and Richard DeMarco. The sole Republican candidate is Ivan Cohen.

3rd District: Incumbent Jannie Blackwell faces two challengers: Alicia Burbage, a former aide to state Sen. Anthony Williams, and Tony Ophax King. No Republicans filed petitions.

4th District: Curtis Jones is unopposed for his second term.

5th District: Incumbent Darrell Clarke faces a challenge from Democrat Suzanne Carn. No Republicans are running.

6th District: Bobby Henon, political director for the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, is vying with former School Reform Commission member Marty Bednarek for the Democratic nomination to replace retiring Joan Krajewski. Sandra Stewart is unopposed for the GOP nomination.

7th District: Incumbent Maria Quinones-Sanchez is seeking her second term against two Democrats, former Councilman Dan Savage and Juan Rodriguez. No Republicans are seeking the seat.

8th District: Ten Democrats filed petitions seeking to replace retiring Donna Reed Miller. They are Cindy Bass, a staff member for U.S. Rep. Chaka Fattah; Bill Durham, who has worked for U.S. Rep. Bob Brady; Fay Dawson, Jordan Dillard, Donna Gentile O'Donnell (also a candidate for Council at-large), Andrew Lofton, Greg Paulmier, Robin Tasco, Howard Treatman and Verna Tyner. No Republicans are running.

9th District: Four Democratic challengers are going after six-term incumbent Marian Tasco. They are Sabriya Bilal, Thomas Lamont, Rhaim Dawkins and Bobby Curry. No petitions were filed by Republicans.

10th District: Republican incumbent Brian O'Neill is unopposed on the GOP side, lined up to face Democrat Bill Rubin, a former aide to the city commissioners, in November.

Register of Wills

Ronald Donatucci, register of wills since 1980, faces two Democratic opponents, Benson Williams and Thomas Lamont (also a candidate in the 9th Council district). The unopposed Republican is Linda Bateman.


Three Democrats - state Rep. Jewell Williams, former city housing director John Kromer and Jacque Whaumbush - are seeking the Democratic nomination to replace acting sheriff Barbara Deeley, who is completing the term of retired John Green. Joshua West is unopposed for the Republican nomination.