St. Joe's sweeps Big 5 baseball honors

Posted: May 23, 2012

St. Joseph's swept both Big Five baseball awards, announced Monday.

Kevin Taylor was named the player of the week and righthander Kyle Mullen (St. Joseph's Prep) was named the pitcher of the week.

Mullen pitched a complete game in the 5-1 win over Xavier on Friday that sent the Hawks to the Atlantic Ten tournament for the first time. He was 8-0 in A-10 play.

Taylor hit two homers and drove in four runs. He led the A-10 with six homer and hit seven overall.

Chestnut Hill leftfielder Alex Latchum (Central Bucks South) was named to the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA), Division II Gold Glove second team for the East Region.

Latchum started 40 games and maintained a perfect, 1.000 fielding percentage. He hit .279 and set a program record with 87 career walks.

MEN'S LACROSSE: Five local players were selected to the South team for the 71st annual United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Division III North-South game.

They are attackmen Dylan Hoff of Lynchburg College (Downingtown East) and Brian Hill, Cabrini (Ridley); midfielder Matt Lynch, Goucher College (La Salle); defender John McSorley, Cabrini (Ridley); and goal keeper Joe Banno, Haverford College.

The game is scheduled for 3 p.m. Friday at Harvard Stadium.

WOMEN'S LACROSSE: Three Rowan players were named to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Boardwalk all-Region team and midfielder Michelle Lubrano was chosen for the association's North-South game on June 16.

Lubrano (Holy Cross) and defender Shannon O'Brien were named first team and attack Becca Wood (Cherry Hill East) was named second-team all- region.

TRACK & FIELD: Rowan will defend its national title in the 1,600-meter relay at the NCAA Division III outdoor championships, which begin Thursday in Claremont, Calif.

Jayce Maxwell, Taylor Purdue,Ali Ejaz (Glassboro) and Demetrius Rooks (Absegami) will carry the sticks in the 1,660.

The 400 relay also will compete, with Brandon Taylor (Woodstown), Maxwell, Marcus Rawls, and Ejaz.

Rooks also qualified in the 400 hurdles, Ejaz is in the 200 meters and Steven Iafrate will throw the javelin.

The Profs also will send five women qualifiers: Jena Peacock (Our Lady of Mercy) in the 3,000 steeplechase; Vanessa Wright (Haddonfield) in the 1,500; Jamie Thompson in the 100 hurdles; and Melirah Searcy in the 400 hurdles. Melissa Lake (Cherokee) will throw the javelin.

Widener's Dennis Conn and Chris Garrity (both from Cardinal O'Hara) qualified in 800-meter run and 1,500 meters, respectively.

Haverford's Jordan Schilit, Peter Kissin and Faraz Sohail qualified for the 5,000 meters, and Fords run Brian Sokas and Andrew Sturner (Cherry Hill West) will run the 10,000 meters. Andrew Golato (Msgr. Bonner) will run the 800.

comments powered by Disqus