This week's Sprint Cup race

Posted: June 14, 2012


Quicken Loans 400

Michigan International Speedway

Brooklyn, Mich.

When: Sunday, 1 p.m.

TV/Radio: TNT/WNPV (1440-AM)

Race course: 2-mile oval

Race distance: 200 laps/400 miles

Race forecast: chance of isolated thunderstorms, mid-80s

Last year's winner: Denny Hamlin

Last year's pole winner: Kurt Busch, 188.699 mph

Track qualifying record: Ryan Newman, 194.232 mph (June 2005)

Track facts: It's the second consecutive race on a repaved track, so expect the track qualifying record to be shattered as it was at Pocono last weekend?…?Denny Hamlin led only the last eight laps in winning last year's race for his only victory of the year; Matt Kenseth was runner-up; Kyle Busch was third. Kyle won the August race at Michigan?…?Mark Martin has the most wins (five) at MIS among full-time active drivers. His last W there was in 2009?…?A 24th-place finish at Pocono ended Greg Biffle's 11-week reign as points leader. Biffle is third, 16 points behind leader Matt Kenseth, a Roush Fenway teammate?…?Since Carl Edwards' victory last year at Las Vegas in the season's third race, he is winless in 47 races.


?1. Matt Kenseth 523

?2. D. Earnhardt Jr. 513

?3. Greg Biffle 507

?4. Denny Hamlin 504

?5. Jimmie Johnson 493

?6. Kevin Harvick 470

?7. Martin Truex Jr. 465

?8. Tony Stewart 448

?9. Clint Bowyer 443

10. Brad Keselowski 426

11. Carl Edwards 423

12. Kyle Busch 420

Wins: Tony Stewart, Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, Jimmie Johnson, 2 each; Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman, Greg Biffle, Kyle Busch, Kasey Kahne, Joey Logano, 1 each.

Up next: Toyota/Save Mart 350, Sonoma Raceway, Sonoma, Calif., 3 p.m.; TV: TNT; last year's winner: Kurt Busch.

— Bill Fleischman

comments powered by Disqus