This Week's Race: Toyota/Save Mart 350

Posted: June 21, 2012


Toyota/Save Mart 350

Sonoma Raceway, Sonoma, Calif.

When: Sunday, 3 p.m.

TV/Radio: TNT/WNPV (1440-AM)

Race course: 1.99-mile, 12-turn road course

Race distance: 110 laps/350 kilometers (219 miles)

Race forecast: sunny, mid-70s

Last year's winner: Kurt Busch

Last year's pole winner: Joey Logano, 93.256 mph

Track qualifying record: Jeff Gordon, 94.325 mph (June 2005)

Track facts: Kurt Busch led four times for 76 laps, including the last 23, to win last year's race. Jeff Gordon was runner-up?…?Gordon's five wins at Sonoma top all drivers. His last win at the track was in 2006. Tony Stewart is a two-time winner?…?Seven different drivers have won the last seven races at Sonoma?… Juan Pablo Montoya's eighth-place finish at Michigan Sunday is his best since an eighth at Bristol in season's fourth race?…?A certain Daily News racin' writer is still accepting "attaboy" congratulations for predicting Dale Earnhardt Jr. would win at Michigan and halt his 0-for-143 winless burden.


?1. Matt Kenseth 565

?2. D. Earnhardt Jr. 561

?3. Greg Biffle 548

?4. Jimmy Johnson 532

?5. Denny Hamlin 514

?6. Kevin Harvick 504

?7. Martin Truex Jr. 497

?8. Tony Stewart 491

?9. Clint Bowyer 481

10. Brad Keselowski 458

11. Carl Edwards 456

12. Kyle Busch* 432

13. R. Newman* 427

* wild card seeds

Wins: Tony Stewart, Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, Jimmie Johnson, 2 each; Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman, Greg Biffle, Kyle Busch, Kasey Kahne, Joey Logano, Dale Earnhardt Jr., 1 each.

Up next: Quaker State 400, June 30, Kentucky Speedway, Sparta, Ky., 7:30 p.m.; TV: TNT; last year's winner: Kyle Busch.

— Bill Fleischman

comments powered by Disqus