This week’s NASCAR rac

Posted: July 12, 2012


Lenox Industrial Tools 301

New Hampshire Motors Speedway

Loudon, N.H.


When: Sunday, 1 p.m.

TV/Radio: TNT/WNPV (1440-AM)

Race course: 1.058-mile oval

Race distance: 301 laps/318.458 miles

Race forecast: partly cloudy, high 80s

Last year's winner: Ryan Newman

Last year's pole winner: Newman, 135.232 mph (track record)

Track facts: Newman led six times for 119 laps (including the final 72) to win last year's race. Tony Stewart was runner-up; Denny Hamlin was third?…?Jeff Burton has the most wins (four) at New Hampshire, but his last win there was 12 years ago. Burton's last overall victory was in 2008. He must wish more races were at Daytona: his second place Saturday night was his best finish since a fifth in the season opener at Daytona?…?Newman, Kurt Busch, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson and Tony Stewart are three-time winners at New Hampshire. Chevrolet drivers have won the last five races at the track?…?With eight races to go before the Chase begins, Kyle Busch needs to get ‘r going if he expects to be a Chaser: he is 12th in points, 56 behind the 10th-place driver, Clint Bowyer. His average finish the last six races is 23.7. Busch's one win could help him secure one of two wild-card berths. Wild cards go to the two drivers with the most wins among those ranked 11th through 20th?…?Matt Kenseth's 25-point lead over Dale Earnhardt Jr. is the largest gap of the season. Previously, Greg Biffle led Earnhardt by 19 after seven races?…?Bobby Labonte's 10th place at Daytona is his best of the season.


 ?1. Matt Kenseth 676

?2. D. Earnhardt Jr. 651

?3. Greg Biffle 632

?4. J. Johnson 618

?5. Tony Stewart 586

?6. Kevin Harvick 586

?7. Denny Hamlin 584

?8. Martin Truex Jr. 584

?9. B. Keselowski 583

10. Clint Bowyer 572

11. Carl Edwards 541

12. Kyle Busch* 516

Wins: Brad Keselowski and Tony Stewart, 3 each; Denny Hamlin and Jimmie Johnson, 2 each; Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman, Greg Biffle, Kyle Busch, Kasey Kahne, Joey Logano, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Clint Bowyer 1.

Up next: Crown Royal "Your Hero's Name Here 400 at the Brickyard", July 29, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis, Ind., 1 p.m.; TV: ESPN; last year's winner: Paul Menard.

— Bill Fleischman

comments powered by Disqus