Top regional attractions

Posted: September 21, 2012

Top Regional Attractions

Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University 1900 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy.; 215-299-1000. www.ansp.org. The Academy at 200: The Nature of Discovery. Closes 9/21. $15; $13 seniors, students, military, children 3-12; free under 3. 10 am-4:30 pm Mon.-Fri., 10 am-5 pm Sat.-Sun.

African American Museum 701 Arch St.; 215-574-0380. www.aampmuseum.org. $10; $8 seniors, students and children. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

American Philosophical Society Museum 104 S. 5th St.; 215-440-3400. www.apsmuseum.org. Donation requested: $1. Apr.-Oct: Thu.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

American Swedish Historical Museum 1900 Pattison Ave.; 215-389-1776. www.americanswedish.org. Featuring exhibits dedicated to Swedish American history, Swedish arts & culture. $6; $5 seniors & students; free under 12. Tue.-Fri. 10 am-4 pm, Sat.-Sun. noon-4 pm.

American Women's Heritage Society Underground Railroad Museum 2000 Belmont Mansion Dr.; 215-878-8844. www.belmontmansion.org. Winter: Tue.-Fri. 11 am-5 pm. Sat-Sun noon-5.

Bartram's Garden 54th St.; 215-729-5281. www.bartramsgarden.org. America's oldest living botanical garden & the pre-revolutionary home of naturalist, botanist & explorer John Bartram. Grounds: Daily 10 am-5 pm. Tours: Mar.-2d week of Dec.: noon-4 pm.

Betsy Ross House 239 Arch St.; 215-686-1252. www.betsyrosshouse.org. $4; $3 seniors, military & children under 13. Mar.-Sep.: Daily 10 am-5 pm; Oct.-Dec.: Tue-Sun. 10 am-5 pm.

Christ Church 2nd & Market Sts.; 215-922-1695. www.christchurchphila.org. Visit the "Nation's Church" to sit where Washington and Franklin did. Donation suggested: $3; $2 students. Mon.-Sat. 9 am-5 pm; Sun. 1-5 pm.

Christ Church Burial Ground 5th & Arch Sts.; 215-922-1695. www.christchurchphila.org. Final resting place of Benjamin Franklin & 4 other signers of the Declaration of Independence. $2; $1 students; guided tours additional fee. Mon-Sat. 10 am-4 pm; Sun. noon-4 pm, weather permitting, Mar.-Nov.

Eastern State Penitentiary 22d St. & Fairmount Ave.; 215-236-3300. www.easternstate.org. The vaulted, sky-lit cells of this prison once held criminals including bank robber Willie Sutton & Al Capone. $12; $10 seniors; $8 students & children 7-12. Children under 7 cannot be admitted to the site. Daily 10 am-5 pm.

Edgar Allan Poe National Historical Site Spring Garden St.; 215-597-8780. www.nps.gov/edal. Home of the author 1843-44. Free. 9 am-5 pm Wed.-Sun.

Elfreth's Alley Second St.; 215-574-0560. www.elfrethsalley.org. $2; $1 children 6-18. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Fairmount Water Works Interpretive Center 640 Waterworks Dr.; 215-685-0723. www.fairmountwaterworks.com. Free. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. 1-5 pm.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia 100 N. 6th St.; 866-574-3727. www.philadelphiafed.org. Free. Mon.-Fri. 9:30 am-4:30 pm. Closed bank holidays.

Fort Mifflin Fort Mifflin Rd.; 215-685-4167. www.fortmifflin.us. $6; $5 seniors; $3 kids 5-12 & veterans; free under 5. Wed.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

The Franklin Institute 222 N. 20th St.; 215-448-1200. www.fi.edu. Dead Sea Scrolls: Life & Faith in Biblical Times. $31.50; $25 children 3-11; After 5 pm: Regular admission. Sci-Pass: $16.50; $15.50 seniors, students & military; $12.50 children. Imax show times vary. Permanent exhibits open daily 9:30 am-5 pm.

Franklin Square 6th & Race Sts.; 215-629-4026. www.historicphiladelphia.org. Philadelphia Park Liberty Carousel. $2.50; free under 2.

Historic Philadelphia Center 6th and Chestnut Sts.; 215-629-4026. historicphiladelphia.org. Independence After Hours. $80; $75 seniors, students and military; $50 children 12 and under. Mon. 9 am-7 pm; Tue.-Sat. 10 am-7 pm.

Independence Hall Chestnut St.; 1-800-537-7676. www.nps.gov/inde/independence-hall-1.htm. Guided Tour - Explore this historic example of Georgian architecture. Daily 9 am-5 pm.

Independence National Historical Park 6th & Market Sts.; 215-965-2305. www.nps.gov/inde/. Most sites free. Daily 8:30 am-5 pm.

Independence Seaport Museum 211 S. Columbus Blvd.; 215-925-5439. www.phillyseaport.org. $12; $10 seniors; $7 children/students/military; free under 2. 10 am-5 pm daily.

Independence Visitor Center N. 6th St. & Market St.; 1-800-537-7676. www.independencevisitorcenter.com/. Doggie Yappy Hour. Open daily 8:30 am-6 pm.

Laurel Hill Cemetery 3822 Ridge Ave.; 215-228-8200. www.thelaurelhillcemetery.org. Outdoor sculptural garden, horticultural gem & historical landmark featuring over 75 acres of art & history. Free. Mon.-Fri. 8 am-4:30 pm; Sat.-Sun. 9:30 am-4:30 pm.

Laurel Hill Mansion East Fairmount Park; 215-235-1776. www.fairmountpark.org/LaurelHill.asp/. Georgian-style mansion built in 1767 by Rebecca Rawle. $5.

Liberty Bell Center 501 Market St.; 215-965-2305. www.nps.gov/inde. Home of the Liberty Bell & exhibits on its origins & role as symbol of freedom. Free. Mon.-Fri .9 am-5 pm; Sat.-Sun. 9 am-6 pm.

Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania 100 E. Northwestern Ave.; 215-247-5777. www.morrisarboretum.org. $16; $14 seniors; $7 students & youth 3-17; free under 3. Hours vary throughout year.

The Mutter Museum 19 S. 22nd St.; 215-563-3737. www.muttermuseum.org. Over 200 wet & dry specimens, lantern slides, x-rays & more. $15; $13 military & seniors; $10 students & children 6-17; free 5 & under. Daily 10 am-5 pm.

National Constitution Center 525 Arch St.; 215-409-6600. www.constitutioncenter.org. 1787 copy on display plus more than 100 interactive exhibits, Signer's Hall, The Story of We the People (multimedia presentation featuring live actor, film & video projection, family-oriented exhibits) & more. Regular admission: $12; $11 seniors; $8 children 4-12; free under 4 & military (audio tour $3). Mon.-Fri. 9:30 am-5 pm, Sat. 9:30 am-6 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

National Liberty Museum 321 Chestnut St.; 215-925-2800. www.libertymuseum.org. $7; $6 seniors; $5 students; $2 youth 5-17; free members & under 5. Open 6 days a week (closed Mon. fall, winter, spring).

National Museum of American Jewish History 101 S. Independence Mall East; 215-923-3811. www.nmajh.org. $12; $11 seniors & youth 13-21; free 12 & under. Tue.-Fri. 10 am-5 pm; Sat.-Sun 10 am-5:30 pm.

Philadelphia History Museum at the Atwater Kent 15 S. 7th St.; 215-685-4830. www.philadelphiahistory.org. Free. Wed.-Sat. 11 am-4 pm.

Philadelphia Museum of Art 26th St. & Benjamin Franklin Pkwy.; 215-763-8100. www.philamuseum.org. $16; $14 seniors 65 and over; $12 students and children 12-18; free under 12. Tue.-Thu., Sat.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Fri. 10 am-8:45 pm.

The Philadelphia Zoo 3400 W. Girard Ave.; 215-243-1100. www.philadelphiazoo.org. $18; $15 children 2-11; free members & under 2. Mar.-Oct.: Daily 9:30 am-5 pm.

Polish American Cultural Center & Museum 308 Walnut St.; 215-922-1700. www.polishamericancenter.org. Free. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm.

Ryerss Museum & Library 7370 Central Ave.; 215-685-0544. ryerssmuseum.org. Asian art & artifacts as well as generations of family heirlooms & paintings. Donations accepted. Fri.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

Penn Museum (University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology & Anthropology) 3260 South St.; 215-898-4000. www.penn.museum. 3 gallery floors with art & artifacts from ancient Egypt, Asia, the Americas, Africa, and the ancient Mediterranean world. Imagine Africa With the Penn Museum. Instructional Drum Circle With Joe Tayoun. $10-$15 walk-in; $70-$100 for eight sessions. Diana Molina & Sterling Noren. 9/22. 2-3 pm. Apocalypse Film Series: Terminator 2 - Judgment Day (1991). Pay-what-you-want. 9/26. 7:30 pm. Donation suggested: $12; $10 seniors; $8 students & children 6-17; free under 6. Tue., Thur.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Wed. 10 am-8 pm.

|
|
|
|
|