Temple releases hoops schedule

Posted: September 23, 2012

The schedule for Temple's men's basketball team is now finalized.

Fran Dunphy's Owls - who return two starters plus redshirt senior Scootie Randall (back from an injury) and West Virginia-transfer Dalton Pepper from a team that finished in the top 25 and made it to the NCAA Tournament for the fifth consecutive season - will play Duke, Syracuse and Kansas. None of those games are in Philadelphia. They will play Duke at the Izod Center in North Jersey on Dec. 8, Syracuse at New York's Madison Square Garden on Dec. 22 as part of the Gotham Classic, and Kansas in Lawrence Jan. 6.

The Owls open at Kent State in a noon game on Nov. 13 as part of ESPN's Tip-Off Marathon. Their first Atlantic 10 game is Jan. 10 at Xavier. This is their last year in the conference before moving to the restructured Big East. They'll face the new A-10 members once. They're at Butler on Jan. 26 and host Virginia Commonwealth in the March 10 regular-season finale. This year's A-10 tourney will be held for the first time at the new Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

In the city, Temple is at Villanova on Dec. 5 and at Saint Joseph's Feb. 2. It hosts Penn on Jan. 23 and La Salle Feb. 21.

- Mike Kern

SCHEDULE

Tuesday, Nov. 13: at Kent State (ESPN), 12

Saturday, Nov. 17: RICE, 8

Sunday, Nov. 25: DELAWARE, 2

Wednesday, Nov. 28: at Buffalo, TBA

Saturday, Dec. 1: WAGNER, 2

Wednesday, Dec. 5: at Villanova (ESPN2), 9

Saturday, Dec. 8: Duke (ESPN, at E. Rutherford), 3:15

Wednesday, Dec. 12: TOWSON, 7

Monday, Dec. 17: ALCORN STATE, 7

Wednesday, Dec. 19: CANISIUS, 7

Saturday, Dec. 22: Syracuse (MSG – ESPN2), 12

Friday, Dec. 28: DETROIT, 3

Monday, Dec. 31: BOWLING, 2

Sunday, Jan. 6: at Kansas (CBS) 1:30/4:30

Thursday, Jan. 10: at Xavier, TBA

Saturday, Jan. 12: SAINT LOUIS (ESPNU), 6

Wednesday, Jan. 16: at George Washington, TBA

Saturday, Jan. 19: ST. BONAVENTURE, 1

Wednesday, Jan. 23: PENN, 7

Saturday, Jan. 26: at Butler (ESPN2), 6

Wednesday, Jan. 30: RICHMOND, 7

Saturday, Feb. 2: at Saint Joseph's, 6

Wednesday, Feb. 6: CHARLOTTE, 7

Saturday, Feb. 9: at Dayton (ESPNU), 11 a.m.

Thursday, Feb. 14: DUQUESNE, 7

Saturday, Feb. 16: at Massachusetts, 6

Thursday, Feb. 21: LA SALLE, 7

Sunday, Feb. 24: at Charlotte, 4

Saturday, March 2: RHODE ISLAND, 2

Wednesday, March 6: at Fordham, 7

Sunday, March 10: VCU (CBS), 12

March 14-17: A-10 Championship Brooklyn

|
|
|
|
|