This week's NASCAR race

Posted: October 18, 2012

Hollywood Casino 400

Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.

When: Sunday, 2 p.m.

TV/Radio: ESPN/WNPV (1440-AM)

Race course: 1.5-mile oval

Race distance: 400 miles/267 laps

Race forecast: partly cloudy, low 70s

Last year's winner: Jimmie Johnson

Last year's pole winner: Greg Biffle, 174.887 mph

Track qualifying record: Matt Kenseth, 180.856 mph (October 2005)

Track facts: Sunday's race is the first time in the Chase's 9-year history that the top three drivers in points - Brad Keselowski, Jimmie Johnson and Denny Hamlin - go to a track where they've won the last three races . . . Johnson led seven times for 157 laps, including the final 28, to win last year's race. Kasey Kahne was runner-up; Keselowski was third . . . Since the spring race, the Kansas track has been reconfigured: The turns are now banked at 17 to 20 degrees. Previously, they were 15 degrees . . . Hamlin won the spring race at Kansas. Martin Truex Jr. was second, Johnson third. A.J. Allmendinger was the fastest qualifier (175.993 mph). He led the first 44 laps, then finished 32nd . . . Regan Smith will drive the No. 88 Chevrolet for Dale Earnhardt Jr. for the second consecutive race. Earnhardt is sitting out while he recuperates from concussions and visited concussion specialists in Pittsburgh on Tuesday. His sister, Kelly Earnhardt Miller, said Junior is on schedule to test a car early next week, hoping to return to racing at Martinsville on Oct. 28 . . . Johnson, Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon and Greg Biffle are two-time winners at Kansas.

Wins: Denny Hamlin and Brad Keselowski, 5 each; Tony Stewart, Jimmie Johnson and Clint Bowyer, 3 each; Kasey Kahne, Greg Biffle, Matt Kenseth, 2 each; Ryan Newman, Kyle Busch, Joey Logano, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Gordon, Marcos Ambrose, 1 each.

Up next: Tums Fast Relief 500, Oct. 28, Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, Va., 2 p.m.; TV: ESPN; last year's winner: Tony Stewart.



1. Brad Keselowski 2214

2. Jimmie Johnson 2207

3. Denny Hamlin 2199

4. Clint Bowyer 2186

5. Kasey Kahne 2179

6. Greg Biffle 2171

7. Martin Truex Jr. 2165

8. Tony Stewart 2164

9. Jeff Gordon 2164

10. Kevin Harvick 2158

11. Matt Kenseth. 2147

12. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2128


Sept. 16: Chicagoland (winner: Brad Keselowski)

Sept. 23: New Hampshire M.S. (Denny Hamlin)

Sept. 30: Dover Int'l Speedway (Brad Keselowski)

Oct. 7: Talladega Superspeedway (Matt Kenseth)

Oct. 13: Charlotte Motor Speedway (Clint Bowyer)

Oct. 21: Kansas Speedway (2 p.m., ESPN)

Oct. 28: Martinsville Speedway (2 p.m., ESPN)

Nov. 4: Texas Motor Speedway (2 p.m., ESPN)

Nov. 11: Phoenix Int'l Raceway (2 p.m., ESPN)

Nov. 18: Homestead-Miami Speedway (2 p.m., ESPN)

comments powered by Disqus