On the Boards

Al Pritchard
Al Pritchard
Posted: February 05, 2013

James A. Michener Art Museum, Doylestown, has appointed the following directors to its board of trustees: William S. Aichele, chairman, president, and chief executive officer of Univest Corp. of Pennsylvania and chairman of Univest National Bank & Trust Co., Univest Investments Inc., and Univest Insurance Inc.; Beth Beans Gilbert, vice president of the Fred Beans Family of Dealerships; Bill Mandel, art director and head designer for CBS and Channel 13 Educational TV in New York; Al Pritchard, a certified public accountant; and Bob Welch, president of the Central Bucks Chamber of Commerce and owner of Central Bucks Properties L.P., Buckingham Properties L.P., R.W. Group Inc., and Academy Wealth Advisers.

Additionally, Barbara Rabson will serve as volunteer representative trustee. She is a former educator at the Guggenheim Museum, Arcadia University, University of Pennsylvania. She has been a docent at the Michener since 2003.

Plant a Seed Inspire a Dream Foundation, a Bucks County-based nonprofit that provides opportunities for children from low-income families, named Ryan Wheeler, World B. Free, and Monica Yant Kinney to its board. Wheeler is a portfolio manager for Friedenthal Financial in Voorhees. Free is a former Philadelphia 76er and a motivational speaker. Yant Kinney is executive director, communications and external affairs, in the Office of the Vice Provost for University Life at the University of Pennsylvania and a former columnist for The Inquirer.

Theodore Hauptman, a partner in the law firm Miller & Hauptman, Feasterville, has been elected president of the Feasterville Business Association. He replaces Ray S. Greenberg, president of Financial Expertise, who takes a position as a director on the association's executive committee. Other officers include: Rose McMenamin, vice president of 3rd Fed Bank, Feasterville, vice president; Linda Pupkiewicz, assistant director of the Lower Southampton Township Library, recording secretary; Diane Fetscher, a financial adviser for Oppenheimer & Co., Jenkintown, corresponding secretary; Dennis I. Markowitz, founder and chief operating officer of Financial Group Plus family of companies, Southampton, treasurer; Larry Laiken, president of Snacks by the Lb., Newtown, financial secretary; and Karen Madotto, assistant vice president, banking officer at Bucks County Bank, Bensalem, sergeant-at-arms.

Board members include: Ed Shannon, a Lower Southampton Township supervisor; Michael J. Hughes, a Realtor and partner at Olde Towne Realty, Feasterville; Michael Wielehowski, president of Northern Mechanical, Trevose; and Stu Coren, president of Rosen Coren Public Relations, Marketing & Advertising, Langhorne. Retained for a second year as directors are Susan Harrison, co-owner and title agent, Greater Philadelphia Abstract Agency, Trevose, and Lower Southampton Police Chief William Wiegman Jr.

Ballard Spahr partner Katayun I. Jaffari has been elected to the executive committee of the Philadelphia Bar Association Business Law Section. Jaffari's practice assists companies in the biotechnology, energy, and technology sectors with complex securities transactions.

David N. Hofstein, president of the Philadelphia domestic-relations firm Hofstein Weiner & Meyer P.C., has been elected president of the Pennsylvania Chapterof the American AcademyofMatrimonial Lawyers.

Irving Smokler, president and founder of the NephCure Foundation, a Berwyn nonprofit organization seeking a cause and cure for kidney disease, has been appointed to the scientific advisory council of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.

Jeffrey Harrison, managing partner of PRISM Partners, Wilmington, has been named chair of the United States Tennis Association Section Delegates for the 2013-14 term. USTA delegates are part of the USTA executive committee and are 17 representatives from the USTA Section Associations.

Legacy Youth Tennis and Education (formerly Arthur Ashe Youth Tennis and Education), a Philadelphia nonprofit, has elected the following board members: Kris Casabon, a freelance photographer; Camille Z. Charles, professor of sociology, Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn term professor in the social sciences, director of the Center for Africana Studies at the University of Pennsylvania; Brad Denning, a partner at PwC Advisory; and Jonathan Spergel, a partner at Manko, Gold, Katcher & Fox L.L.P.

James P. Cullen Jr. has been appointed to the board of trustees for Cristo Rey Philadelphia High School, a new private college-preparatory school for low-income students. He is a shareholder at Cozen O'Connor and a member of the firm's subrogation and recovery practice group.

Electrical Association ofPhiladelphia, a nonprofit trade association, elected the following officers to its board for 2013-14: Joseph Henry, chief executive of Cusick Electrical Sales, is president; Kim Schneider, chief executive of Kim Schneider Electrical Contracting, is vice president; Brigid Falasca, an engineer with Eaton Electrical, is treasurer; and Kenneth Hull Jr., a retired electrical contractor, is secretary.

Temple University has appointed Leon O. Moulder Jr., Bret S. Perkins, and Joseph W. Marshall 3d to its board of trustees. Moulder Jr. is cofounder and CEO of Tesaro Inc., Waltham, Mass. Perkins is vice president of external and government affairs for Comcast Corp. Marshall is the former chairman and CEO of Temple University Health System.

Economy League of Greater Philadelphia, a nonprofit, business-led civic organization, elected the following members to its board: Patrick J. Dorris, associate vice president, University of Pennsylvania Health System; Hope Foote, partner, assurance services, at Ernst & Young, Philadelphia; Chris Giangrasso, senior vice president, human resources and communications, at Arkema, Philadelphia; Brett Kammeier, sales manager at United Parcel Services, Philadelphia; Paul Oakley, director of communications and Northeast public and government affairs at Dow Chemical Co., Philadelphia, and Christophe Terlizzi, senior vice president and regional manager at CRE Finance, First Niagara Bank, Plymouth Meeting.

  Hospital & Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania, Harrisburg, has elected the following officers and members to its board: Garry L. Scheib, chief operating officer of the University of Pennsylvania Health System and executive director of the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, is chair; Steven P. Johnson, president and CEO of Susquehanna Health, Williamsport, is chair-elect. Scott A. Becker, CEO of Conemaugh Health System, Johnstown, is treasurer. Paul Bacharach, president and CEO of Uniontown Hospital, is immediate past chair.

Board members include: Christopher A. Gessner, president of Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC; Michael P. Halter, CEO of Hahnemann University Hospital, Philadelphia; Kathleen E. Kuck, president and CEO of Pocono Medical Center, East Stroudsburg; Laurence M. Merlis, president and CEO of Abington Memorial Hospital; Brian A. Nester, chief strategy officer of Lehigh Valley Health Network, Allentown; and Kenneth E. Wood, chief medical officer of Geisinger Medical Center, Danville.

       Carolyn Mirabile, a partner in the Norristown office of Weber Gallagher and member of the firm's family law practice group, has been elected treasurer of the Montgomery Bar Association.     - Mike Zebe

comments powered by Disqus