Top regional attractions

Posted: February 15, 2013

Top Regional Attractions

Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University 1900 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy.; 215-299-1000. www.ansp.org. $15; $13 seniors, students, military, children 3-12; free under 3. 10 am-4:30 pm Mon.-Fri., 10 am-5 pm Sat.-Sun.

African American Museum 701 Arch St.; 215-574-0380. www.aampmuseum.org. $10; $8 seniors, students and children. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

American Swedish Historical Museum 1900 Pattison Ave.; 215-389-1776. www.americanswedish.org. Featuring exhibits dedicated to Swedish American history, Swedish arts & culture. $6; $5 seniors & students; free under 12. Tue.-Fri. 10 am-4 pm, Sat.-Sun. noon-4 pm.

American Women's Heritage Society Underground Railroad Museum 2000 Belmont Mansion Dr.; 215-878-8844. www.belmontmansion.org. Winter: Tue.-Fri. 11 am-5 pm. Sat-Sun noon-5.

Bartram's Garden 54th St.; 215-729-5281. www.bartramsgarden.org. America's oldest living botanical garden & the pre-revolutionary home of naturalist, botanist & explorer John Bartram. Grounds: Daily 10 am-5 pm.

Betsy Ross House 239 Arch St.; 215-686-1252. www.betsyrosshouse.org. $4; $3 seniors, military & under 13. Jan.-Feb.: Wed.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm.

Christ Church 2d & Market Sts.; 215-922-1695. www.christchurchphila.org. Visit the "Nation's Church" to sit where Washington and Franklin did. Donation suggested: $3; $2 students. Mon.-Sat. 9 am-5 pm; Sun. 1-5 pm; closed Mon.-Tue. in Jan. & Feb.

Eastern State Penitentiary 22d St. & Fairmount Ave.; 215-236-3300. www.easternstate.org. The vaulted, skylit cells of this prison once held criminals including bank robber Willie Sutton & Al Capone. $12; $10 seniors; $8 students & children 7-12. Children under 7 cannot be admitted. Daily 10 am-5 pm.

Edgar Allan Poe National Historical Site Spring Garden St.; 215-597-8780. www.nps.gov/edal. Home of the author 1843-44. Free. 9 am-5 pm Wed.-Sun.

Elfreth's Alley Second St.; 215-574-0560. www.elfrethsalley.org. $2; $1 children 6-18. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Fairmount Water Works Interpretive Center 640 Waterworks Dr.; 215-685-0723. www.fairmountwaterworks.com. Free. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. 1-5 pm.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia 100 N. 6th St.; 866-574-3727. www.philadelphiafed.org. Free. Mon.-Fri. 9:30 am-4:30 pm. Closed bank holidays.

Fort Mifflin Fort Mifflin Rd.; 215-685-4167. www.fortmifflin.us. $6; $5 seniors; $3 kids 5-12 & veterans; free under 5. Wed.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

The Franklin Institute 222 N. 20th St.; 215-448-1200. www.fi.edu. Titanic: The Artifact Exhibition. $19.50-$29; $14.50-$22 children 3-11. Sci-Pass: $16.50; $15.50 seniors, students & military; $12.50 children. Imax show times vary. Permanent exhibits open daily 9:30 am-5 pm..

Historic Philadelphia Center 6th and Chestnut Sts.; 215-629-4026. historicphiladelphia.org. Mon. 9 am-7 pm; Tue.-Sat. 10 am-7 pm.

Independence Hall Chestnut St.; 1-800-537-7676. www.nps.gov/inde/independence-hall-1.htm. Guided Tour - Explore this historic example of Georgian architecture. Daily 9 am-5 pm.

Independence National Historical Park 6th & Market Sts.; 215-965-2305. www.nps.gov/inde/. Most sites free. Daily 8:30 am-5 pm.

Independence Seaport Museum 211 S. Columbus Blvd.; 215-925-5439. www.phillyseaport.org. $12; $10 seniors; $7 children/students/military; free under 2. 10 am-5 pm daily.

Independence Visitor Center N. 6th St. & Market St.; 1-800-537-7676. www.independencevisitorcenter.com/. Open daily 8:30 am-6 pm.

Laurel Hill Cemetery 3822 Ridge Ave.; 215-228-8200. www.thelaurelhillcemetery.org. Sculptural garden, horticultural gem & historical landmark featuring over 75 acres of art & history. Free. Mon.-Fri. 8 am-4:30 pm; Sat.-Sun. 9:30 am-4:30 pm.

Laurel Hill Mansion East Fairmount Park; 215-235-1776. www.fairmountpark.org/LaurelHill.asp/. Georgian-style mansion built in 1767 by Rebecca Rawle. $5.

Liberty Bell Center 501 Market St.; 215-965-2305. www.nps.gov/inde. Home of the Liberty Bell & exhibits on its origins & role as symbol of freedom. Free. Mon.-Fri .9 am-5 pm; Sat.-Sun. 9 am-6 pm.

Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania 100 E. Northwestern Ave.; 215-247-5777. www.morrisarboretum.org. $16; $14 seniors; $7 students & youth 3-17; free under 3. Hours vary throughout year.

The Mutter Museum 19 S. 22d St.; 215-563-3737. www.muttermuseum.org. Over 200 wet & dry specimens, lantern slides, x-rays & more. $15; $13 military & seniors; $10 students & children 6-17; free 5 & under. Daily 10 am-5 pm.

National Constitution Center 525 Arch St.; 215-409-6600. www.constitutioncenter.org. 1787 copy on display plus more than 100 interactive exhibits, Signer's Hall, The Story of We the People (multimedia presentation featuring live actor, film & video projection, family-oriented exhibits) & more. Regular admission: $12; $11 seniors; $8 children 4-12; free under 4 & military (audio tour $3). Mon.-Fri. 9:30 am-5 pm, Sat. 9:30 am-6 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

National Liberty Museum 321 Chestnut St.; 215-925-2800. www.libertymuseum.org. $7; $6 seniors; $5 students; $2 youth 5-17; free members & under 5. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. noon-6 pm.

National Museum of American Jewish History 101 S. Independence Mall East; 215-923-3811. www.nmajh.org. $12; $11 seniors & youth 13-21; free 12 & under. Tue.-Fri. 10 am-5 pm; Sat.-Sun 10 am-5:30 pm.

Philadelphia History Museum 15 S. 7th St.; 215-685-4830. www.philadelphiahistory.org. $10; $8 seniors; $6 students and teens 13-18; free 12 and under. Tue.-Sat. 10:30 am-4:30 pm.

Philadelphia Museum of Art 26th St. & Benjamin Franklin Pkwy.; 215-763-8100. www.philamuseum.org. $20; $18 seniors 65 and over; $14 students and children 12-18; free under 12. Tue.-Thu., Sat.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Fri. 10 am-8:45 pm.

The Philadelphia Zoo 3400 W. Girard Ave.; 215-243-1100. www.philadelphiazoo.org. $18; $15 children 2-11; free members & under 2. Nov.-Feb.: 10 am-4 pm.

Polish American Cultural Center & Museum 308 Walnut St.; 215-922-1700. www.polishamericancenter.org. Free. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm.

Ryerss Museum & Library 7370 Central Ave.; 215-685-0544. ryerssmuseum.org. Asian art & artifacts as well as generations of family heirlooms & paintings. Donations accepted. Fri.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

Penn Museum (University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology & Anthropology) 3260 South St.; 215-898-4000. www.penn.museum. 3 gallery floors with art & artifacts from ancient Egypt, Asia, the Americas, Africa, and the ancient Mediterranean world. In the Artifact Lab: Conserving Egyptian Mummies. Instructional Drum Circle With Joe Tayoun. $15; $10 students. Donation suggested: $12; $10 seniors; $8 students & children 6-17; free under 6. Tue., Thur.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Wed. 10 am-8 pm.

Wagner Free Institute of Science 1700 W. Montgomery Ave.; 215-763-6529. www.wagnerfreeinstitute.org. Founded 1855. Houses Wagner's natural history collection of skeletons, mounted animals, fossils. Donation suggested: $8; Guided tours: $15; $10 seniors; $5 children. Office: Mon.-Fri. 9 am-5 pm.

Woodford Mansion 33d & Dauphin St.; 215-229-6115. www.woodfordmansion.org. 18th century summer house furnished with period antiques. $5; $3 seniors; $2 children 6-12.

The Woodlands 4000 Woodland Ave.; 215-386-2181. www.woodlandsphila.org. National Historic Landmark District featuring the William Hamilton mansion & carriage house of 1789 & the continuously active Woodlands Cemetery founded on the remains of Hamilton's estate in 1840.

American Helicopter Museum & Education Center 1220 American Blvd., West Chester; 610-436-9600. www.helicoptermuseum.org. $10; $8 students; $7 groups; free under 2. Wed.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Beth Sholom Synagogue 8231 Old York Rd., Jenkintown; 215-887-1342. www.bethsholompreservation.org. Sun. 10 am-4 pm; Wed.-Thu. 10 am-2 pm.

Brandywine Battlefield Historic Site Route 1, Chadds Ford; 610-459-3342. www.brandywinebattlefield.org. 52 acres of woodlands, meadows, Washington's headquarters, artifacts, weapons, uniforms. House tours: $5; $3.50 seniors; $2.50 children 6-17; free under 6. Park free. Tue.-Sat. 9 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Brandywine River Museum Rte. 1 & Rte. 100, Chadds Ford; 610-388-2700. www.brandywinemuseum.org. $12; $8 seniors; $6 students & children 6-12; free under 6 & for all Sun. until noon. Daily 9:30 am-4:30 pm.

Chadds Ford Historical Society 1736 Creek Rd., Chadds Ford; 610-388-7376. www.chaddsfordhistory.org. $5 for 2 houses; $3 students 12-17; free 12 and under.

Chester County Historical Society 225 N. High St., West Chester; 610-692-4800. www.cchs-pa.org/. $5; $4 seniors & students; $2.50 children; free under 6. Wed.-Sat. 9:30-4:30.

Elmwood Park Zoo 1661 Harding Blvd., Norristown; 610-277-3825. www.elmwoodparkzoo.org. Norristown Zoological Society operates the Zoo, an educational adventure in a fun, clean & family-oriented environment. $9; $6 children 2-12 and seniors; free under 2. Dec.-Feb.: Fri.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

Fonthill Museum E. Court St., Doylestown; 215-348-9461. www.fonthillmuseum.org. $12; $10 seniors 65 & over; $5 children 6-17; free 5 and under. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm. Reservations recommended.

Hopewell Furnace 2 Mark Bird Ln., Elverson; 610-582-8773. www.nps.gov/hofu. Daily 9 am-5 pm.

Longwood Gardens Rte. 1, Kennett Square; 610-388-1000. www.longwoodgardens.org. $16; $14 seniors (ages 62 & over); $6 students (5-22); free 4 & under. Daily 9 am-5 pm.

The Mercer Museum 84 S. Pine St., Doylestown; 215-345-0210. www.mercermuseum.org. $10; $9 seniors 65 & over; $5 children 6-17; free 5 and under. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. noon-5 pm.

Pennypacker Mills 5 Haldeman Rd., Schwenksville; 610-287-9349. historicsites.montcopa.org/pennypackermills. Turn-of-the-century mansion & farm of Pa's 25th governor Samuel W. Pennypacker (1903-07). Free. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm; Sun. 1-4 pm.

Pottsgrove Manor 100 W. King St., Pottstown; 610-326-4014. www.historicsites.montcopa.org. Donations accepted. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm, Sun. 1-4 pm.

Richard Wall House Museum 1 Wall Park Dr., Elkins Park; 215-887-9159. Features 4 floors of exhibits, visitors' orientation center, springhouse, "Flapper" room, Victorian & Edwardian fashions & more. Sun. 1-4 pm.

Tyler Arboretum 515 Painter Rd., Media; 610-566-9134. www.tylerarboretum.org. $9; $8 seniors; $5 children 3-15. Daily 8 am-dusk.

Valley Forge National Historical Park 1400 N. Outer Line Dr., King of Prussia; 610-783-1099. www.nps.gov/vafo. Free. Park grounds open daily from dawn until dusk. Visitor Center and Washington HQ open daily 9 am-5 pm.

Washington Crossing Historic Park/Memorial Building Auditorium 1112 River Rd., Washington Crossing; 215-493-4076. www.ushistory.org/washingtoncrossing. $5; $4 seniors; $2 children 6-17. Tue.-Sat. 9 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Adventure Aquarium 1 Aquarium Dr., Camden; 866-451-2782. www.adventureaquarium.com. $23.95; $17.95 children 2-12; free under 2. Sept.-June: daily 10 am-5 pm.

Air Victory Museum 68 Stacy Haines Rd., Lumberton; 609-267-4488. www.airvictorymuseum.org. $4; $3 seniors; $2 students 4-13. Nov-Mar.: Wed.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm.

Atlantic City Aquarium 800 N. New Hampshire Ave., Atlantic City; 609-348-2880. www.atlanticcityaquarium.com/. $7; $5 seniors; $4 children 4-12; free under 3. Daily 10 am-5 pm.

Battleship New Jersey Museum 62 Battleship Pl., Camden; 866-877-6262. www.battleshipnewjersey.org. Experience what life was like aboard our nation's most decorated battleship. $15-$19; $10.50-$13 veterans, seniors, ages 6-11; free active military in uniform, ages 5 & under.

Camden County Historical Society 1900 Park Blvd., Camden; 856-964-3333. www.cchsnj.com. Features exhibits on Camden County history, from the Leni Lenape people through the industrial age. Pomona Hall - 18th-century mansion once home to the Cooper Family. Tours available. $5; $4 students & seniors. Sun. noon-5 pm; Wed.-Fri. 12:30-4:30 pm.

Howell Living History Farm 70 Wooden's La., Titusville; 609-737-3299. www.howellfarm.org. 130-acre farm is an educational facility, open to the public, that preserves & interprets farming life & processes from the era of 1890-1910. Free. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm; Sun. noon-4 pm.

South Jersey Museum of American History 123 High St. E., Glassboro; 856-442-0688. southjerseymuseum.org/default.aspx. Includes artifacts from the Pre-Columbian through the colonial era, antique hand tools, glass & comprehensive political history exhibit. $4; $3 children. Thu.-Sun. 1-5 pm.

Washington Crossing State Park 355 Washington Crossing-Pennington Rd., Titusville; 609-737-0623. www.state.nj.us/dep/parksandforests/parks/washcros.html. Includes 18th century Johnson Ferry House (historic farmhouse & tavern site) & Visitor Center Museum featuring exhibits on the Continental Army's crossing of the Delaware River & the Battles of Trenton & Princeton. Wed.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm, Sun. 1-4 pm.

Delaware Agricultural Museum & Village 866 N. DuPont Hwy., Dover; 302-734-1618. www.agriculturalmuseum.org. $5; $3 seniors & students; free members & under 6.

Delaware Museum of Natural History 4840 Kennett Pike, Greenville; 302-658-9111. www.delmnh.org. $9; $8 seniors; $7 children 3-17; free under 3. Mon.-Sat. 9:30 am-4:30 pm; Sun. noon-4:30 pm.

Hagley Museum & Library 298 Buck Rd. East, Greenville; 302-658-2400. www.hagley.org. $11; $9 seniors & students; $4 children 6-14; free under 6. Daily 9:30 am-4:30 pm.

Museum of Small Town Life 316 S Governors Ave., Dover; 302-739-4266. Donations accepted. Mon.-Sat. 9 am-4:30 pm; Sun. 1:30-4:30 pm.

Rockwood Museum 610 Shipley Rd., Wilmington; 302-761-4340. www.rockwood.org. $5; $2 children 2-12; free under 2. Wed.-Sun. 10 am-2 pm.

Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library 5105 Kennett Pike, Winterthur; 302-888-4600. www.winterthur.org. A Lasting Legacy: 60 Years of Winterthur Graduate Programs. $18; $16 seniors & students; $5 children 2-11; free under 2. Tue.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm.

comments powered by Disqus
|
|
|
|
|