TOM CARPUS has had less hectic weeks. That's what happens when you become part of a moment.
He's the head golf professional at Kennett Square Golf & Country Club. He's also a rules expert who has worked at 18 PGA Championships and a couple of Ryder Cups. He was doing his fourth Masters, where in the second round he was one of the three rules officials stationed at the 15th hole. In case you missed it, Tiger Woods had to take a drop there after hitting the flagstick with his third shot to the par 5 and watching his ball richochet into the water. It was later determined, long after he signed his scorecard, that he'd taken an inproper drop. And the folks at Augusta National added a two-stroke penalty. But he wasn't disqualified and eventually finished four behind Angel Cabrera and Adam Scott, who won the playoff.