Top regional attractions

Posted: April 27, 2013

Top Regional Attractions

Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University 1900 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy.; 215-299-1000. www.ansp.org. $15; $13 seniors, students, military, children 3-12; free for children under 3. 10 am-4:30 pm Mon.-Fri., 10 am-5 pm Sat.-Sun..

African American Museum 701 Arch St.; 215-574-0380. www.aampmuseum.org. $10; $8 seniors, students and children. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

American Philosophical Society Museum 104 S. 5th St.; 215-440-3400. www.apsmuseum.org. Donation requested: $1. Apr.-Oct: Thu.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm; Nov.-Dec.: Fri.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

American Swedish Historical Museum 1900 Pattison Ave.; 215-389-1776. www.americanswedish.org. Featuring exhibits dedicated to Swedish American history, Swedish arts & culture. $6; $5 seniors & students; free for children under 12. Tue.-Fri. 10 am-4 pm, Sat.-Sun. noon-4 pm.

American Women's Heritage Society Underground Railroad Museum 2000 Belmont Mansion Dr.; 215-878-8844. www.belmontmansion.org. Winter: Tue.-Fri. 11 am-5 pm. Summer: Tue.-Sun. 11 am-5 pm:.

Bartram's Garden 54th St.; 215-729-5281. www.bartramsgarden.org. America's oldest living botanical garden & the pre-revolutionary home of naturalist, botanist & explorer John Bartram. Grounds: Daily 10 am-5 pm. Tours: Mar.-2nd week of Dec.: noon-4 pm.

Betsy Ross House 239 Arch St.; 215-686-1252. www.betsyrosshouse.org. $4; $3 seniors, military & children under 13. Jan.-Feb.: Wed.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Mar.-Sep.: Daily 10 am-5 pm; Oct.-Dec.: Tue-Sun. 10 am-5 pm.

Christ Church Second St.; 215-922-1695. www.christchurchphila.org. Visit the "Nation's Church" to sit where Washington and Franklin did, while hearing stories of how vision, faith, and courage shaped our nation. Donation suggested: $3; $2 students. Mon.-Sat. 9 am-5 pm; Sun. 1-5 pm; Closed Mon.-Tue. in Jan. & Feb..

Christ Church Burial Ground 5th & Arch Sts.; 215-922-1695. www.christchurchphila.org. Final resting place of Benjamin Franklin & 4 other signers of the Declaration of Independence. $2; $1 students; Guided tours additional fee. Mon-Sat. 10 am-4 pm; Sun. noon-4 pm, weather permitting, Mar.-Nov. Limited hrs. in Dec. Closed Jan. & Feb..

Eastern State Penitentiary 22nd St. & Fairmount Ave.; 215-236-3300. www.easternstate.org. The vaulted, sky-lit cells of this prison once held many of America's most notorious criminals, including bank robber Willie Sutton & Al Capone. $14; $12 seniors; $10 students and children 7 and over. Daily 10 am-5 pm.

Elfreth's Alley Second St.; 215-574-0560. www.elfrethsalley.org. $2; $1 children 6-18. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Fairmount Water Works Interpretive Center 640 Waterworks Dr.; 215-685-0723. www.fairmountwaterworks.com. Free. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. 1-5 pm.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia 100 N. 6th St.; 866-574-3727. www.philadelphiafed.org. Free. Mon.-Fri. 9:30 am-4:30 pm. Open weekends Jun.-Aug: Sat. 9 am-3 pm, Sun. 11 am-3 pm. Closed bank holidays..

Fort Mifflin Fort Mifflin Rd.; 215-685-4167. www.fortmifflin.us. $6; $5 seniors; $3 kids 5-12 & veterans; free for kids under 5. Wed.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

The Franklin Institute 222 N. 20th St.; 215-448-1200. www.fi.edu. Sci-Pass: $16.50; $15.50 seniors, students & military; $12.50 children. IMAX show times vary. Permanent exhibits open daily 9:30 am-5 pm..

Franklin Square 6th & Race Sts.; 215-629-4026. www.historicphiladelphia.org. Philadelphia Park Liberty Carousel. $2.50; free for children under 2. Daily 10 am-9 pm thru Labor Day.

Historic Philadelphia Center 6th and Chestnut Sts.; 215-629-4026. historicphiladelphia.org. Independence After Hours. $85; $75 seniors, students and military; $50 children. Mon. 9 am-7 pm; Tue.-Sat. 10 am-7 pm.

Independence Hall Chestnut St.; 800-537-7676. www.nps.gov/inde/independence-hall-1.htm. Guided Tour - Explore this historic example of Georgian architecture. Daily 9 am-5 pm.

Independence National Historical Park 6th & Market Sts.; 215-965-2305. www.nps.gov/inde/. Most sites free. Daily 8:30 am-5 pm.

Independence Seaport Museum 211 S. Columbus Blvd.; 215-925-5439. www.phillyseaport.org. $12; $10 seniors; $7 children/students/military; free for children under 2. 10 am-5 pm daily.

Independence Visitor Center N. 6th St. & Market St.; 800-537-7676. www.independencevisitorcenter.com/. Open daily 8:30 am-6 pm.

Laurel Hill Cemetery 3822 Ridge Ave.; 215-228-8200. www.thelaurelhillcemetery.org. Outdoor sculptural garden, horticultural gem & unique historical landmark featuring over 75 acres of art & history. Free. Mon.-Fri. 8 am-4:30 pm; Sat.-Sun. 9:30 am-4:30 pm.

Laurel Hill Mansion East Fairmount Park; 215-235-1776. www.fairmountpark.org/LaurelHill.asp/. Georgian-style mansion built in 1767 by Rebecca Rawle. $5. .

Liberty Bell Center 501 Market St.; 215-965-2305. www.nps.gov/inde. Home of the Liberty Bell & exhibits on its origins & role as symbol of freedom. Free. Mon.-Fri .9 am-5 pm; Sat.-Sun. 9 am-6 pm.

Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania 100 E. Northwestern Ave.; 215-247-5777. www.morrisarboretum.org. $16; $14 seniors; $7 students & youth 3-17; free for children under 3. Hours vary throughout year.

The Mutter Museum 19 S. 22nd St.; 215-563-3737. www.muttermuseum.org. Over 200 wet & dry specimens, lantern slides, x-rays & more. $15; $13 military & seniors; $10 students & children 6-17; free for children 5 & under. Daily 10 am-5 pm.

National Constitution Center 525 Arch St.; 215-409-6600. www.constitutioncenter.org. 1787 copy on display plus more than 100 interactive exhibits, Signers' Hall, Freedom Rising & more. Regular admission: $14.50; $13 seniors; $8 children 4-12; free for children under 4 & military (audio tour $3). Mon.-Fri. 9:30 am-5 pm, Sat. 9:30 am-6 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

National Liberty Museum 321 Chestnut St.; 215-925-2800. www.libertymuseum.org. $7; $6 seniors; $5 students; $2 youth 5-17; free for members & children under 5. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. noon-6 pm.

National Museum of American Jewish History 101 S. Independence Mall East; 215-923-3811. www.nmajh.org. KIPP Young Friends Scholarship Benefit. $75. 4/27. 7:30-10:30 pm. $12; $11 seniors & youth 13-21; free for children 12 & under (Wed. in July 5-8 pm pay-what-you-wish). Tue.-Fri. 10 am-5 pm; Sat.-Sun 10 am-5:30 pm.

Philadelphia History Museum 15 S. 7th St.; 215-685-4830. www.philadelphiahistory.org. $10; $8 seniors; $6 students and teens 13-18; free for children 12 and under. Tue.-Sat. 10:30 am-4:30 pm.

Philadelphia Museum of Art 26th St. & Benjamin Franklin Pkwy.; 215-763-8100. www.philamuseum.org. $20; $18 seniors 65 and over; $14 students and children 13-18; free for children 12 and under. Tue. & Thu., Sat.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Wed. & Fri. 10 am-8:45 pm.

The Philadelphia Zoo 3400 W. Girard Ave.; 215-243-1100. www.philadelphiazoo.org. $18; $15 children 2-11; free for members & children under 2. Mar.-Oct.: Daily 9:30 am-5 pm; Nov.-Feb.:10 am-4 pm.

Polish American Cultural Center & Museum 308 Walnut St.; 215-922-1700. www.polishamericancenter.org. Free. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm.

Ryerss Museum & Library 7370 Central Ave.; 215-685-0544. ryerssmuseum.org. Asian art & artifacts as well as generations of family heirlooms & paintings. Donations accepted. Fri.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

Penn Museum (University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology & Anthropology) 3260 South St.; 215-898-4000. www.penn.museum. 3 gallery floors with art & artifacts from ancient Egypt, Asia, the Americas, Africa, and the ancient Mediterranean world. In the Artifact Lab: Conserving Egyptian Mummies. Instructional Drum Circle With Joe Tayoun. $15. Closes 5/1. Save the CEC Fundraiser. $20 advance; $25 day of show. 4/28. 3 pm. Great Battles: Thermopylae - The Battle for Europe?. $5 advance; $10 day of event. 5/1. 6-7:30 pm. Donation suggested: $12; $10 seniors; $8 students & children 6-17; free for children under 6. Tue., Thur.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Wed. 10 am-8 pm.

Wagner Free Institute of Science 1700 W. Montgomery Ave.; 215-763-6529. www.wagnerfreeinstitute.org. Founded 1855. Houses Wagner's natural history collection of skeletons, mounted animals, fossils. Donation suggested: $8; Guided tours: $15; $10 seniors; $5 children. Office: Mon.-Fri. 9 am-5 pm.

Woodford Mansion 33rd & Dauphin St.; 215-229-6115. www.woodfordmansion.org. Elegant 18th century summer house furnished with an exquisite collection of period antiques. $5; $3 seniors; $2 children 6-12. .

The Woodlands 4000 Woodland Ave.; 215-386-2181. www.woodlandsphila.org. National Historic Landmark District featuring the William Hamilton mansion & carriage house of 1789 & the continuously active Woodlands Cemetery founded on the remains of Hamilton's estate in 1840. .

American Helicopter Museum & Education Center 1220 American Blvd., West Chester; 610-436-9600. www.helicoptermuseum.org. $10; $8 students; $7 groups; free for children under 2. Wed.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Beth Sholom Synagogue 8231 Old York Rd., Jenkintown; 215-887-1342. www.bethsholompreservation.org. Sun. 10 am-4 pm; Wed.-Thu. 10 am-2 pm.

Brandywine Battlefield Historic Site Route 1, Chadds Ford; 610-459-3342. www.brandywinebattlefield.org. 52 acres of woodlands, meadows, Washington's headquarters, artifacts, weapons, uniforms. House tours: $5; $3.50 seniors; $2.50 children 6-17; free for children under 6. Park free. Tue.-Sat. 9 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

     

comments powered by Disqus
|
|
|
|
|