Presidential Terms at Area Schools

Posted: July 12, 2013

A look at presidential tenures at four-year colleges in the Philadelphia area, with the year each took over.

Sister Francesca Onley, Holy Family University, 1981.

Sister Carol Jean Vale, Chestnut Hill College, 1992.

Rosalie Mirenda, Neumann University, 1996.

*Michael J. McGinniss (a Christian brother), La Salle University, 1999.

Sister R. Patricia Fadden, Immaculata University, 2002.

James T. Harris III, Widener University, 2002.

Kathleen Owens, Gwynedd-Mercy College, 2002.

Amy Gutmann, University of Pennsylvania, 2004.

Sharon Latchaw Hirsh, Rosemont College, 2006.

Peter M. Donohue, Villanova University, 2006.

Stephen Spinelli Jr., Philadelphia University, 2007.

Sean T. Buffington, University of the Arts, 2007.

Joseph S. Brosnan, Delaware Valley College, 2007.

Michelle R. Howard-Vital, Cheyney University, 2007.

Patrick T. Harker, University of Delaware, 2007.

Todd J. Williams, Cairn University, 2008.

Greg R. Weisenstein, West Chester University, 2009.

Rebecca Chopp, Swarthmore College, 2009.

James Mergiotti, Peirce College, 2009.

John A. Fry, Drexel University, 2010.

Kristin King, Bryn Athyn College, 2011.

Bobby Fong, Ursinus College, 2011.

**Rodney Erickson, Pennsylvania State University, 2011.

The Rev. C. Kevin Gillespie, St. Joseph's University, 2012.

Cecelia FitzGibbons, Moore College of Art and Design, 2012.

Robert R. Jennings, Lincoln University, 2012.

Helen Giles-Gee, University of the Sciences, 2012.

Ali Houshmand, Rowan University, 2012.

Robert L. Barchi, Rutgers University, 2012.

Neil D. Theobald, Temple University, January.

Daniel H. Weiss, Haverford College, July 1.

Robert G. Duffett, Eastern University, July 1.

Christopher L. Eisgruber, Princeton University, July 1.

Bryn Mawr and Cabrini Colleges have interim presidents, and Arcadia University has a chief operating officer.

* McGinniss has announced he will leave May 31.

** Erickson will leave by June 30, 2014, or earlier if a successor is appointed.

comments powered by Disqus