Big Ten unveils Penn State football schedules for 2016-17

Posted: July 13, 2013

The Big Ten on Thursday trotted out its football schedules for 2016 and 2017 marking the beginning of the new nine-game conference season, giving Penn State five home games in the even-numbered years and four in the odd-numbered seasons.

With nine Big Ten games, the Nittany Lions will play the six other members of the conference's Eastern Division (Rutgers, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State) and three teams from the Western Division.

The Lions will play at Rutgers on Nov. 19, 2016, and will host the Scarlet Knights on Nov. 11, 2017, at Beaver Stadium.

In 2016, Penn State will host Minnesota, Maryland, Ohio State, Iowa, and Michigan State, and play nonconference games at Beaver Stadium against Temple and Kent State. On the road, the Lions will face Michigan, Purdue, Indiana, and Rutgers in the Big Ten, and will renew their series with archrival Pittsburgh at Heinz Field.

The Panthers will visit Happy Valley in 2017, when Penn State also will host Big Ten opponents Indiana, Michigan, Rutgers, and Nebraska. The Nittany Lions will travel for Big Ten games at Northwestern, Iowa, Ohio State, Michigan State, and Maryland.

The Lions also will host Akron in 2017, and play another home game yet to be scheduled.

More players to watch. Penn State sophomore defensive end Deion Barnes, a former star at Northeast High School, has been named to the watch list for the Nagurski Award.

Barnes, the 2012 Big Ten freshman of the year, also received recognition for the Bednarik Award, presented by the Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia to the nation's best defensive player.

The Nagurski Award, which is sponsored by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club, also is presented to the nation's best defensive player.

Two Penn State seniors, guard John Urschel and defensive tackle DaQuan Jones, were named to the watch list for the Outland Trophy, given to the nation's top interior lineman.

Rutgers schedules. Rutgers will play Big Ten games at Ohio State, Minnesota, Michigan State, and Maryland in 2016. The Scarlet Knights will host Michigan, Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, and Penn State.

In 2017, Rutgers will host Ohio State, Purdue, Maryland, and Michigan State. It will visit Nebraska, Illinois, Michigan, Penn State, and Indiana.

Contact Joe Juliano at Follow on Twitter @JoeJulesInq.

comments powered by Disqus